Motivation logo

Star in disguise

change how you see

By diyosaPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

I’ve reached many realizations. First being life is not meant to be taken too seriously. Second and I haven’t fully understood this yet, but people are corrupt. There’s no other way too put it.

Before I get ahead of myself let me introduce myself. My name is Ashanté, I am 18 years old and I live in what is now a quite dangerous city; Toronto. I’ve lived here my whole life. Yes, I’ve taken a couple trips. Nothing too fancy. I am Filipino and Jamaican, quite the minority. I also happen to be female. I’m still living my life, I’m still learning. I graduated highschool recently as an Ontario Scholar. I’m quite proud of my achievements and I can’t wait to do more. I aim to have a positive impact on others and inspire them. I’m unforgettable, I must be nice with it.

I’m telling you how I live.

How I survive, grind and finesse.

I want to share how I cope, what I feel and how I carry on. Some people need a voice. A voice to remind them they’re alright. Anyone can keep going. There sooo many other stories out there but this isn’t another one, this is how we change your story. Let me be your leader, I will let you learn from mine.

18 going on 25. Those who know me know how true this is. I grew up fast simply because I am curious. The world tried to rip a hole in me, but couldn’t. All the ones who tried to hurt me didn’t and that made them come back for more.

Many wise philosophers believe you control your destiny, I’ve read book after book all saying i am the key. That is true I am the key to my own happiness.

I have this friend Jasmine and she’s a model. She’s gorgeous and her family takes good care of her. She loves the lifestyle she’s lives. Booze, weed, partying, boats, traveling and men. If you ask me I see nothing wrong with that lifestyle hell I hope at one point of my life that’s how I’m living. Jasmine is the most unhappy person I know, I’ve watched her make decisions and crumble but I’ve also watched her succeed. Still her reaction was the same while she crumpled and while she succeeded.

I’ve told you about Jasmine for a couple reasons. Firstly people will always surround you that’s inevitable but no one is the same, everyone has their own lifestyle. Everyone carries on in the way that they choose everyone is the centre of their own universe. For a while now I've been questioning just who exactly am I.

I stick out amongst my peers, I turn heads while not in sheer. I am brillaince and glam, I am a poet my words are the true gems. Still I guess it is the city i was born and raised in, the city were people like Drake grew up and turned their back on hatred to walk filthy rich and caking. The city were we climb on top of one another to make it. We dont lend a hand that's "shaking it". The city were girls think less is more and the men are all basic. The city. The city. The city. The places where our foreign mothers left their warm land to start something new, look what we've made of it. Living a life we see on TV, hunting, hurting for the thrill of it. So influenced by our neighbours we can no longer see the hate we've built, everyone wants to make it out.. meaning no one wants to stay in it.

So why'd our mothers run so far for us to settle for the simple life. The life of hustlers, pimps and whores. The life we all just idolize. The long hair, fake nails, gucci drip and jordan on his left to right. Caught up in the rat race i fear my brothers and sisters will have to testify. So let me lead you back to the light and remind you what is truly right. Don't do it for the fame or clout do it and be dignified. You've sold your soul to a currency that holds no weight. No bricks of gold just fake diamond stones and a heart that longs to mesmerize.

I want to remind you to love- to harmonize. I want you to remember to look up- the choas cannot reach that high. There is beauty in the stars and real beauty in your sober life. You dont have to travel far, just love with all your might. Be you and then all will feel justified.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

diyosa

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.