Motivation logo

Spring Has Sprung

Bye-Bye Seasonal Sadness

By Hannah MeadePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I know outside doesn't look like the picture where some of us live; it sure doesn't look like that here. No flowers yet.

But I currently have all my windows open and am breathing in fresh, warm air. It's 66 degrees outside. The grass is becoming green again, and the air smells like Spring. I think you know exactly what smell I'm talking about.

This time of the year is especially helpful to people like me, who feel that seasonal depression evaporate as soon as the good weather hits.

Wintertime is hard. The world goes dark by 5 pm, it's cold all of the time, and there are not as many activities to do. I know personally, I don't want to do anything but cuddle up on the couch with a warm blanket and a cut of hot cocoa.

I love that hot cocoa, though

Let me paint you a picture that will give you immediate serotonin.

It's May 1st, 2021. You haven't had the heat on in over a month; it's supposed to be 70 degrees today.

You wake up to the window open, casting a soft breeze inside the bedroom. You smile and breathe in the fresh air.

You toss the covers aside and head to the closet. The soft white shorts you've been wanting to wear are sitting in the top drawer of the dresser. You put them on, along with a fitting light pink tank top.

Your hair flows in front of your face from the wind, and you laugh as a piece of hair catches in your mouth.

You walk to the kitchen and pour yourself a small glass of orange juice. You grab a muffin you made just last night and head out to the balcony.

Your cat rubs against your leg as she follows you out. You reach down to give her a few pets and you sit down on the floating chair.

There isn't a cloud in the baby blue sky. As you eat your muffin and your cat hops up onto your lap, you smile again.

For many months you've been waiting to feel this peace; this happiness. It's finally here. The next month is full of flowers blooming and the sun shining.

Spring has sprung.

Isn't that the lovely picture you needed on this Monday?

I think what we all crave from Spring, at least myself and my fellow Spring lovers, is the new beginning it brings.

After a dreary winter of constant snow and darkness, we look forward to spring showers that bring May flowers. (Get it? Haha...)

It feels like heaven on the skin when we can finally bust out those shorts and t-shirts and expose ourselves to the bright, yellow sun.

Don't forget that sun screen!

Wherever you are, I hope you are enjoying the nice weather and looking forward to the next month as I am.

Here's to a new season, a new landscape, and a brand new beginning for all of us. Let's make it wonderful.

Bye, everyone :)

PSA: Hope you enjoyed the new post! I was feeling inspired by the new weather to talk about it. I hope you are able to get outside today and enjoy at least part of this beautiful weather we are having today. Don't forget to drop me a like and let me know what you think!

Have a blossoming Monday!!

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.