Motivation logo

Sparking Motivation

Breaking Procrastination and Finding Inspiration

By DarrenPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Sparking Motivation
Photo by Randy Tarampi on Unsplash

I had always been a procrastinator. I would put off studying for tests until the night before, delay starting projects until the deadline was looming, and often found myself struggling to find the motivation to even get out of bed in the morning. It was a cycle that I couldn't seem to break, and I felt trapped in my own lack of motivation.

But one day, something changed. I was scrolling through social media, mindlessly wasting time when I stumbled upon a video that caught my attention. It was a motivational speech by a well-known speaker, and as I listened to his words, something inside of me sparked.

For the first time in a long time, I felt a glimmer of motivation. I felt inspired, energized, and ready to take on the world. I knew that I needed to keep this feeling alive, to use it to propel me forward in my goals and aspirations.

So I started small. I made a to-do list for the day and set achievable goals. I took breaks when I needed them, but I made sure to always come back to my tasks. I found that by breaking things down into smaller, manageable steps, I was able to maintain my motivation and make progress.

But motivation is fickle, and it's not always easy to maintain. There were days when I would wake up feeling defeated, when the weight of my goals felt too heavy to bear. On those days, I turned to the things that brought me joy - reading, exercising, and spending time with loved ones. I knew that taking care of myself was essential to keeping my motivation alive.

And slowly, over time, I began to see progress. My grades improved, my work became more focused and productive, and I felt happier and more fulfilled. I knew that I still had a long way to go, but for the first time in a long time, I felt like I was on the right path.

There were still setbacks, of course. There were times when I would slip back into old habits, when I would find myself procrastinating or struggling to find motivation. But each time, I reminded myself of the feeling that had sparked within me when I watched that motivational video. I reminded myself of my goals, my dreams, and my potential.

And I kept going. I kept pushing myself, even when it was hard. I knew that the road ahead would be long and challenging, but I also knew I had the power within me to keep moving forward.

Motivation is not a constant. It's a flame that must be tended to, nurtured, and fueled. But when it's burning bright, there's nothing that can stop you. And for the first time in a long time, I felt like I had the power to achieve anything I set my mind to.

As I continued on my journey of self-discovery and growth, I found that motivation came in many forms. Sometimes it was a kind word from a friend or loved one; other times, it was a simple change in my environment that allowed me to focus better.

I began to learn that motivation was not just about willpower or determination - it was about creating an environment that supported my goals and aspirations. I began to surround myself with people who believed in me and encouraged me, and I sought out spaces that felt conducive to productivity and focus.

But perhaps the most important lesson I learned about motivation was that it was not something that could be forced or manufactured. It was a natural outgrowth of a life lived with purpose and intention.

As I began to align my actions with my values and goals, I found that motivation flowed more easily. It was no longer a struggle to get out of bed in the morning or to tackle a difficult task - it was simply a natural part of the journey.

Of course, there were still challenges along the way. Life is never easy, and there were times when I felt overwhelmed or discouraged. But I had learned to trust the process, to believe in myself and my abilities, and to never give up on my dreams.

And as I look back on my journey, I am grateful for every setback and every obstacle. Each one taught me something new about myself, and each one helped me to grow stronger and more resilient.

Today, I am proud of the person I have become, and I am excited for the future. I know that there will be many more challenges ahead, but I also know that I have the power within me to face them head-on.

Because at the end of the day, motivation is not just about achieving our goals - it's about living a life that is true to who we are and making a positive impact on the world around us. And that is a journey that I am honored to be on.

adviceself help

About the Creator

Darren

Hey! I'm a writer from the Philippines looking to start my journey into the world of journalism. Deeply personal stories are a specialty of mine, so if you like stories that you can relate to, look no further! I'm your man!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    DarrenWritten by Darren

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.