Motivation logo

FARMER CHILDREN'S STORIES

FARMER CHILDREN'S STORIES

By Mawar FunckyPublished 3 days ago 3 min read

FARMER CHILDREN'S STORIES

I'm just a small farmer's son. Born far from city civilization. In a small village that the people call Kalituri village. This is where I was born. In the midst of the hustle and bustle of farmers struggling to achieve prosperity. Tobacco leaves, rice grains, corn kernels are the driving wheels of the community's economy. However, some time ago, there was news of restrictions on tobacco production. This news really hurts the community. The problem is that of the many plants cultivated, tobacco is the one that is able to provide more breath than other plants. It is with tobacco that people can survive longer. Even though the agricultural land in our village is not very large, it is the only hope of the community.

I don't want to discuss the issue that happened the other day. The issue regarding tobacco. I want to look back. Reminiscing about my childhood. Remembering the days of playing with mud and plants. Ten years ago or more I was a kid. I'm still in elementary school. I don't know anything about farming. Even though my father is a farmer. Even though my grandfather and my entire extended family were farmers. But gradually as time went by I started to get involved. I started to go down. I started to experience life as a farmer.

At first I just helped my parents. At that time I was just entering elementary school. It doesn't help, but rather interferes with parents' work. But time changes, days change, weeks, months and years change. I'm really involved as a farmer. When I was in junior high school I started helping my parents more intensively with their work. As a gurum farmer. Apart from school activities in the afternoon or holidays, I usually spend it helping my parents. When planting season arrives. I helped Daud (harvesting rice seeds that had been planted to grow). I also planted rice seeds. When the rice started to grow, I took part in weeding or the villagers called it maton. When the harvest season came, I took part in the derep (rice harvest).

As I got older, I dared myself to try to fully invest in farming. I set aside more time during high school to take care of the farm. At that time I was in second year of high school. In the tobacco season, I intend to try to learn how to grow tobacco from childhood to harvest. Even though the land I am trying to cultivate is not that big. About 25 RU. With the help of my parents and input from various people near me, it really helped me in farming tobacco. I feel like a real farmer. I feel the joy of farming. When morning dawned with the sun shining brightly, I was in that small field. Accompanied by a hoe, sickle and several other agricultural tools, I spent my teenage years. I found that enjoyment. I find pleasure when eating. When sweat started pouring down my body. When the sunlight hits my face. That's where the pleasure of rice mixed with vegetables and a side dish of tempeh. When the day is bright, when the afternoon is warm I feel the breeze of heaven hitting me. I feel the peace of a farmer. I feel that. Maybe this is what makes farmers feel at home in their routine lives. Regardless of income and living needs. There is invaluable satisfaction.

Id only they were my farmer brothers who always support the people of the country in a more prosperous life. So that is the peak of satisfaction in a farmer's life journey. That was the pinnacle of their lives. Even though currently they are still struggling with various obstacles ranging from high fertilizer prices, low crop prices, and the minimal role of the government, this has not made them discouraged. I hope that all of my brothers will continue to be farmers and hopefully prosperity will soon come as the peak of enjoyment of life as a farmer.

successhappinessadvice

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MFWritten by Mawar Funcky

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.