Motivation logo

Some More Observations On Writing

Due To A Grammarly Statistics Email

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
3
Some Observations From Grammarly

Introduction

I get a weekly email telling me how I have performed on Grammarly. I’m told I have been using it for over a year but I am sure it has been longer. My friend Call Me Les suggested that I use it as my work is often full of spelling mistakes and grammatical errors, although that was when I was writing pieces using voice-to-text when I was out walking, something I now only use for basic ideas.

There was an image stating I had reached a goal and some mentions of how Mark Twain would always write a thousand words a day, and Stephen King writes two thousand words a day.

So About My Writing

Today I posted a short blog post on Seven Days In (you can read by clicking the site name) although I don’t really post there much any more, maybe one or two posts a month usually documenting the book that I am currently reading.

My Vocal writing is an entirely different kettle of fish.

In 21 months on Vocal I have written over 1050 articles, 450 of which have been poems, some collected in anthologies on Amazon which would not have happened without Vocal. My poems probably average around two hundred words per article so that is ninety thousand words in the poetry community and say maybe eight hundred words for everything else that is around half a million words there. I do not think anyone apart from myself will ever read all my work.

This image of Margaret Hamilton shows her standing against the code she wrote to put men on the moon.

Most of my code was written in COBOL , though I have used various forms of BASIC, FORTRAN, HTML, SQL, PHP, JAVA and maybe I have forgotten about but I am not sure if I wrote that much. I do smirk when I watch Jurassic Park and see the guy going on about his million lines of code, when most of it would have been machine generated. Machine generated code always bothers me, but I do use it to initially generate code then manually amend it to do what I require (I am a very lazy coder and writer).

The piece below was an attempt to write two thousand words in a day on Seven Days In when I was on holiday in Craster, though I think now that this was definitely a case of quantity over quality.

My average since I started on Vocal is maybe two stories a day, assuming one article and one poem that is maybe a thousand words so I am in Mark Twain territory not Stephen King, though they are both writers that I admire.

Inspiration

I am extremely lucky in that I can be inspired to write by so many things, like that Grammarly email for this piece, but I am inspired to write poetry by so many people, places and events and sometimes feel I could just keep writing poems but then part of me tells me I am being lazy and I need to write some fiction or a piece like this.

I know my friends and audience would miss my poems if I dropped them but I do feel that I have to continually look for different things and areas to write about so that people don’t see a post of mine and think “Oh no not another whatever”.

Conclusion

I hope this gives people ideas for their own writing as well as an insight into what I do on a daily basis to share my thoughts with you.

I thought I'd include "Proud Mary" by Creedence Clearwater Revival because the "Rollin' On A River" seems appropriate for any artist or creator.

successsocial mediaproduct reviewhow togoalsadvice
3

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I would definitely miss your poems if you didn't write them, Mike! Don't you dare stop 🥹❤️ But on the Grammarly note...just curious, do you pay for the premium version? I am just wondering because I like to use Grammarly, and sometimes it has hidden suggestions for me that can be unlocked if I pay 😅

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    I'm going to look into Grammarly as grammar and punctuation are my weaknesses - I'm lousy at it. I did have a proofreader but ever since she's had brain surgery she's no capable of doing that kind of work.

  • I don't use Grammarly so I have to spend a lot of time proofreading 😅 But I like how Grammarly inspired you to write this. You're an inspiration to us all!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    I admire the volume of work you have written with some wonderful pieces. I only have 50 stories that are on Vocal and about 10 that are in my files for other platforms and that's over two years. Grammerly is helpful, but for me constant review before submitting is what I need. Keep writing Mike! Love your work.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    I used grammarly, and still need editing on my writing. I hire a people to edit some of my stories and sometimes they still grammar corrections . I just given up and up my readers still got the message and enjoy my stories. I can say I have read over a hundred of your stories by now not counting the poem. I just stop by stories sometimes without leaving a comment.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.