Motivation logo

Small moment, big impact

Finding strength

By Delight Published about a year ago 3 min read
3

I was just fifteen when I found myself standing alone in the school field, watching as the students I once considered friends walked away from me. It was a typical day at school, and I was walking with a group of girls from my class when someone said something hurtful about my appearance. I don't even remember what it was now, but I remember feeling my cheeks burn and my eyes well up with tears.

The girls all burst out laughing, and I could feel their eyes on me. That was the moment when everything changed. They all turned their backs and walked away, leaving me standing there, feeling like the loneliest person on the planet. I felt as if the ground should open and swallow me up.

From that moment, I became the target of relentless bullying and verbal abuse. Every day, I would come to school and face insults, taunts, and name-calling. They made me feel like an outcast, unworthy of their friendship, unworthy of anything. The worst part was that I couldn't escape it, even outside of school. I would hear the whispers and the laughter behind my back. Everywhere I went, I felt their eyes on me, watching, judging.

It was a difficult time for me, and I felt completely alone. I tried to talk to my parents about it, but they didn't seem to understand the extent of the problem. They told me to ignore it, to toughen up, to stand up for myself. But how could I when I was so terrified of those girls and what they might do to me? I felt powerless, helpless, and hopeless.

One day, I was sitting alone in the school cafeteria, trying to avoid the stares and the whispers, when a girl walked over to me. Her name was Amaka, and she was a new student who had just transferred to our school. She had a friendly smile on her face, and she introduced herself. She sat down next to me and started talking to me like we had been friends forever. I was surprised, but also relieved.

Amaka became my friend, my confidante, my savior. She was the first person who saw me for who I was, not for what I looked like or what other people said about me. She didn't care about what the other girls thought, and she didn't let their bullying affect her. She was strong, and she made me feel strong too.

It was a small moment, but it had a big impact on my life. Amaka showed me that there were good people in the world, people who didn't judge me or hurt me. She showed me that I was worthy of love and friendship, and that there was hope for a better tomorrow. She gave me the courage to stand up for myself, to speak my truth, and to be proud of who I was.

Looking back now, I realize that that small moment was a turning point in my life. It was the moment when I realized that I didn't have to let other people define me, that I didn't have to live in fear and shame. It was the moment when I started to see myself as a strong, capable young woman, worthy of respect and love.

Today, I am twenty-five years old, and I still remember that moment vividly. I think about Amaka often, and I am grateful for her friendship and her kindness. She may not have known it at the time, but she changed my life in ways that she could never imagine.

To anyone who might be going through a similar situation, I would say this: never give up hope. There are good people in the world, people who will see you for who you are and love you just the same. Don't let anyone else define you or make you feel less. You are strong and you are confident, never forget that.

healingsuccessadvice
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.