Motivation logo

Say Something!

Make sure they are open to listening.

By Nancy I BagleyPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Imagine how many times a day you let opportunities to use your voice pass you by. You justify silence as being polite, not wanting to make waves, you wonder, "is what you're about to say better than silence?" (quoting Scot Moldenhauer), afraid of what others might think, or you can feel that no one wants to hear it.

For the longest time, I kept to myself and tried to get along with everyone. I didn't rock the proverbial boat and was content being in the background. When I did have something to say in a group of people, I was often ignored or treated like the nagging know-it-all. After a while I felt like I was standing in a room full of people and no one could hear me scream--so I avoided being in a room full of people. My confidence level was non-existent and I had mastered the power of invisibility.

So often we can get trapped into being silent that when we do finally verbally express our wants, needs, and thoughts, our words can echo through the canyon of non-responsiveness. Our words are wasted on ears that no longer want to hear. In all types of relationships, this can be damaging. There are countless people I come in contact with where silence can be the root of their undesirable situations. As the result, marriages can be ruined, business relationships can end, friendships lost, opportunities missed, and personal development can be hindered.

Thankfully, I have gained the confidence needed to break out of my shell and get comfortable speaking to small groups. I envision myself on stage in front of many more people as the days progress. Yes I still have fears and doubts. There's still that little voice that whispers "What makes you think they want to hear what you have to say?". I reply, "Because the one thing I say could change someone's life".

If you have something on your mind, I encourage you to put aside fear, be [tactfully] honest with yourself and others, and stop playing it safe. Someone needs to hear what you are thinking and feeling--that someone could also be you.

So with that being said, I want to take Randy Gage out to lunch, have Tony Robbins be my emcee, collaborate with Patricia Zapf on research papers, turn my coaching business into group facilitation for couples having relationship and intimacy problems, finally be the one to solve Jon-Benet's murder, have a billiards rematch with Charlie Batch, and drag race Larry Wilcox in our trucks.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.