Motivation logo

Reset

Hitting the reset button

By Ditra GravesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Reset
Photo by Vladislav Bychkov on Unsplash

If you could hit the reset button in one area of your life, what area would you start all over? Would it be in the area of finances, love, lost, career, school. At the age and point in my life I can't help but sit and mentally review the place I'm at. I should be much further than I am currently. The truth of the matter is, I have made bad choices in all relationships outside of your common ones. How do I define common relationship? Glad you asked. I define common as a relationship with a family member, coworker, a neighbor.

If we all be honest, truly honesty we are the cause for needing a reset. A true reset, the type that you simply hold the power button down. No one made me enter into none of the relationship that I entered in. Many of the relationship I was entered in, I knew it wasn't for me. How many times have you told yourself that you could change the situation, or you could make someone better? If I could get $100.00 dollars for every time, I said that, lol I would be going on a lovely vacation. Too often we blame others for what ultimately, we knew was wrong.

It's not until we take true ownership of our choices that we start to grow. So here is to me growing! LOL Every dating or talking relationship or situation was not for me, and I knew it. I truly believe, looking back that those decisions have delayed my progress. I think about how much time I wasted with each person or wasted trying to make that person fit in my life. Wasting time with bad relationship equals wasted time, which means wasted finances as well.

Can we make a decision collectively today? Let's decide to stop going into any situation blindly when we have all the red flags, all the alarms and continue to hope for the best. We have to learn from our past and ensure the future doesn't look the same. How do you do that? I'm so happy that you asked that too. First, take ownership for what you as an individual did or didn't do. Then LET IT GO! Let the situation go, let the mistake go, let the hurt go, let the betrayal go. Build up from your experiences and help build others. Do not be afraid of counseling and talk to creditable people. Many times, we want to get advice from people that are just as bad as we are and seek for their advice... that makes a lot of sense... joking.

You probably where thinking that you were the only one that needed to hit a reset button in your life, welp you aren't. I'm right there with you but in life there are no take backs. With that being said I take every unhealthy memory and release it and receive every lesson and apply it to my everyday living no matter how dark some days may get we will overcome.

So now, I need you to see that area in your life. See yourself releasing the pain, hurt, confusion and letting it go. What does let it go mean? Forgiving and trying your best to forget. You have such a great purpose in this life, and we can't allow the past to hinder all that we are striving to do for ourselves and others.

We are all humans, and every day is not a perfect day. There will be hits and misses but the key is not to give up and to not dwell on the past. Leran and grow.

healing

About the Creator

Ditra Graves

I am a writer and photographer ❤️

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ditra GravesWritten by Ditra Graves

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.