Motivation logo

Gratefulness

Worth

By Ditra GravesPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
Gratefulness
Photo by Fadi Xd on Unsplash

In April I remember sharing a few things about myself to some coworkers that had no clue. In May I met a young lady that was going through a medic situation, and it felt like she had given up.

I’m grateful while it has been more than 10 years, I still remember getting the call that my parents' house was on fire. It was in the middle of the night. It was by the grace of God I didn’t work that far from my parents' house at that time. It seemed like it took forever to go there but I assure you I wasn't playing with my driving. To be honest I can't remember who actually called me and give me the news. I worked on the exterior of my job and normally I would have to walk through the building to get to my car. Trust me when I say it is a walk... you had to walk from your car to the security guard and then walk down the hill and then through the building and then back outside and cross through the drop yard to get to the location I was assigned to. I can’t remember how I got to my car. I just remember the drive trying to get to my parents.

All I knew was my parents' house was on fire. I had my hazard lights on, and I put my car in the wind! When I got to their street there where so many fire trucks, I couldn’t even turn down the street. I parked and I ran the entire way to their house... for a moment I thought my heart was busting in my chest it was beating so hard.

By the time I got there I can barely remember the fire itself, I just remember calling out for my parents. They were sitting across the street in my dad’s truck watching the house burn to the ground as fire department worked on it.

I don’t remember crying over the stuff. I will be honest; I don’t remember my parents crying over the stuff that was lost in the fire. What I can remember is my folks practicing fire drills with us as little children. At the time of the fire, I was in my early 20's and the only sibling that was staying at the house with my parents was my youngest sister who is 11 months younger than me. My parents were definitely covered on that night! That night was just one example of the resilience of my parents. For the next several months I watched as my father worked to rebuild what was once the original family home. Many times, we are stronger than we realize. There is no greater time to recall what you have overcame.

I was able to encourge the young lady by sharing what I had experience and at the same time I was able to share my experiences with my coworkers. I will be the first to tell you that I'm private when it comes to work. I'm sure there are some that can agree. It's not often you can find someone that you can trust.. not to tell all but to tell what is needed. Here is to you finding the motivation and drive to share what you have been holding to yourself. You are so worth the healing and the liberty that comes when you make others aware that are creditable in your life.

You are not alone, we have all experienced trauma and life situations on the various level. But today is your day!

happinessadvice

About the Creator

Ditra Graves

I am a writer and photographer ❤️

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ditra GravesWritten by Ditra Graves

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.