Motivation logo

Red Bull

Life changing words

By Katie B Published 3 years ago 3 min read
2
#Bossmom

Till this day I admire my mother, Yuliya. As long as I can remember she has been the type of woman that others have looked up to. A busy business woman with a constant smile on her face. Always holding herself together no matter what life threw at her. My mother would wear the most fashionable clothes and be super dressed up. She still wears dresses and high heals even to the store. During that time other kids would even say, “I wish my mother was like yours.” Which has made we want to be like her.

When I was a kid I would dress up in my mother’s clothes and pretend to act like her. I would notice her constantly drinking Red Bull. Now I know, it was her secret to getting things done. At 10 years old I didn’t know what it was. All I knew I wasn’t allowed to have it. Since I wanted to be like her, I always begged to try her Red Bull. Her response was, “You’re too young and this isn’t for kids.” Of course that didn’t stop me from bugging her. One day she said, “Look at our dog who’s constantly begging to try your chocolate. You know that chocolate for the dog can be lethal. But the dog doesn’t know that. It will cry and beg not knowing that it can hurt it. Just because you want something, doesn’t mean it’s good for you.” After that day, if my mother said,“This is not for kids.” I didn’t ask again.

As an adult my mother’s words have strongly shaped my life. Just because I want something, doesn’t mean it’s good for me. Those words have impacted my dating, friendships and business decisions. Realistically it didn’t always stop me from making some bad decisions but I am able to reroute myself and make a better choice.

When it comes to dating, I don’t get caught up in my idea of a man. In my youth, I’ve made wrong choices but it only solidified my mother’s words. In the past I have chosen men because of my idea of them. Ignoring all the red flags that have been presented. I just really wanted them. No matter what anyone said or what they’ve done. I would get what I want but in end I would get hurt. Remembering just because I want something, doesn’t mean it’s good for me. I’m able to not rush into a relationship. If I meet a man who’s emotionally unavailable, not consistent and doesn’t want to fully commit. I can tell he is not good for me and move on.

I’ve applied my mother’s words in business ventures. When an opportunity arose and everything seemed good. I get excited and want to sign the contract. Instead of rushing into the deal, I take a look at the track record. The deal may seem good but if the Company track record is off, I will not proceed. No matter how much I want to make it happen. If I’m not careful it can bring undesirable results.

I am very grateful for the friendships I have. But careful of who I allow to be my friend. Since you become who you surround yourself with. Choosing people that are good for me is very crucial. Having friends that don’t have goals and constantly want to party. No matter how much fun I have with them in return can have a negative impact.

Over the years I have learned to look at the bigger picture to see where a path is taking me. Putting the pieces together I’m able to see if that path will take me to my desired result. I have so much gratitude for my mother, Yuliya. That said, “Just because you want something, doesn’t mean it’s good for you.” Who knew that as a kid wanting to try a can of Red Bull would bring such life changing words.

advice
2

About the Creator

Katie B

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.