Motivation logo

Recipe Of Joy

Starting With The Right Ingredients

By Cathy DeslippePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Passion In The Gardens

With all the right ingredients and all of my favourite things ,I love to do. You put them together and then I will share my greatest passion with you.

Therapy In The Garden

There is no greater feeling then preparing your soil and planting seeds in the spring. Watching plants from flowers to vegetables start to blossom.

My time for therapy, listening to the wonderful nature sounds and planting the plants , brings me so much joy. I have been doing this since a child.

So many wonderful memories of my dad come to mind. We would prepare the big garden, first I would pick up stones and hard objects, we would rake together. Dad would continue with a rotatillar, being extremely careful as we lived in a town with very large rocks. Especially underground.

When all the vegetables were grown ,my mom and sisters would be ready to can and make soups, chili sauce, freeze the corn and various vegetables.

Sharing with many in the community and having lots of food was wonderful.

The Joy Of Life

FAMILY, my biggest joy and passion in my heart.

The first day I became a mommy, was one of the greatest days of my life. Having lost children and to have a child, was a really big miracle. Not just one but two and a half years later we were blessed with two.

Although our children grew up fast, the joy of seeing all their first. Nothing is more meaningful in your heart.

As parents ,my husband and I continue to watch them grow into amazing adults. Both intelligent and both with big caring hearts.

Even better,we have two grandchildren.

The Love Of Our Dog Riley

We have a beautiful grey/white Snauzer dog, a very big part of our family.

Two of my greatest passions, the joy of sketching and most of all our pup. Riley welcomes everyone walking by our home. A heart of gold, loves our grandchildren to the point of being very protective of them.

When our grandson sleeps over, beside the bed you find Riley laying on the mat. He watches over him while he sleeps.

It’s wonderful to have a passion of sketching ,but the joy of always having had a dog, has been a lifetime of love in our hearts, especially mine.

The Love Of Our Lives, Bridget - Amazing Dog. Lived To be 20

Our first pup Bridget, was like having our first child. Wow can you imagine 20 years of life, never suffered and past in his sleep.

Lots of brushing and trimming her hair with scissors, was a lot of work but she was beautiful. Much like Lassie that played in the movies.

Crafting And Making Outdoor Lights

I have creativity in my own family and it just continues to grow. This craft consists of saving your soup cans, peeling the label off, cleaning it really well. Creating a word such as love with a small nail or even a design, looks beautiful. Pick your favourite colour of paint and add sand and a tea light in the bottom, now you have lanterns to hang or put around your patio or porch.

From nails to paper, stamps, scissors ✂️ and creative skills too. My favourite all time craft is creating cards with Stampin Up, writing my own sentiments and sending them to many people. Recently I have made some for the acts of kindness in our city. I was honoured to be asked. I am excited to take them tomorrow so they can get out there and be shared.

Creating And Giving A Little Of Yourself.

When they asked why would you want to follow me through life, my answer is we all have that one very special quality in common.

The ability to write to share with the world so many things. From true stories,advice, poetry and even songs. We have the best passion, the ability to be passionate with art and through art.

We all have individual passions, each unique and different. Mine is caring and doing what ever I can for my family, friends and even those who I don’t even know.

I am a teacher, a creator ,a fun loving individual that if you needed me, or needed anything, I would be there for you 24-7. Why is this a great passion, when you grow in life and you learn right from the home you were raised. You know how it feels in your heart, to see others happy. To see less fortunate smile for the simplest thing.

So if you read this story, you know I use many tools like scissors,nails,hammers, rakes, shovel. Yet the passion that keeps growing and growing is the words that I share inside of cards, on garden signs, on dog tags or food containers. Yet when I complete a book to share with the world, my passion is to spread the words of acts of kindness and love.

My Real Passion Are Words Written Just For you.

Creating My Passion.

It may start with a simple seed.

Then simple words for you to read.

Scissors and paper to create a card.

Nails to hammer and it is hard.

Yet to share with others the best of all.

Anything they need, anytime at all.

The feeling of what love truly can mean.

Once experienced,best feeling ever seen.

Come and join me❤️❤️❤️

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.