Motivation logo

Productivity For Lazy People Like Me

I'm a pretty lazy person. Well, I have written thirty novels and a few hundred blog posts, but still - I am sluggish. The secret of my productivity is my sofa.

By René JungePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo by Sonnie Hiles on Unsplash

Today I am quite lazy again. After I wrote an article of 1300 words, I'm exhausted and would like to sleep. But unfortunately, I have to write another essay and work on my new book.

I hate this stress.

On the other hand, I am much better off today than I was eighteen months ago. Back then, I had a full-time job with forty hours a week. I had to write my books after work. Those were often very long days, but because I'm a lazy person, I put up with that.

My goal was to one day live on writing alone so that I wouldn't have to get up at five every morning, go to work and come home in the evening completely exhausted and frustrated.

This is the only reason why I have managed to look like a hard-working man for over a few years. In reality, I just wanted to be allowed to be really lazy at last. So I wrote, learned marketing, built up a fan base, and sold more and more books.

Finally, I had really made it and was able to quit my job. Today I work from home and write books.

Unfortunately, it turned out that I'm by no means finished with my work by noon, as I had hoped. Sometimes I sit at the computer until the evening.

A pretty stupid thing, you could say now, but it's not that bad. Yes, I work more now than before, but I have become even lazier. Because when I say that sometimes I sit at the computer until late in the evening, it's not quite right.

There's a couch in my study. You can turn it into a bed if you have visitors. My study is also our guest room.

But mostly the couch is just a couch. It's to the right of my desk, right under a window through which I can look out onto the street from my chair.

I spend a lot of time on this couch. Whenever I get stuck writing, I get up first and walk around a bit. Sometimes that helps to clear my head and get my creativity going again.

But much more often, this method does not work. Then it is time for the couch. But I do not sit on it - I lie down. My head rests on one cushion and my feet on another. Then I close my eyes and do nothing.

If my wife saw me like this, she would call me a sluggard, which she would be right about. But, of course, I'm not just lying there to be lazy. No, really. I work when I lie there like that.

When I slowly calm down and am almost on the verge of falling asleep, the conscious thinking stops, and the chase for the next idea also ends. I no longer think about what I could write next, or how my story should continue.

And then something special usually happens. It doesn't happen every time, of course, but it happens quite often. The ideas I was chasing a few minutes ago suddenly come out of the thicket.

It's as if they're suddenly no longer afraid of me because I'm no longer running after them like a maniac.

Then I open my eyes, return to my laptop, and continue writing.

This is actually the whole secret of my productivity. As soon as I don't feel like it or have any more ideas, I lie down on my couch, let everything go, and trust my subconscious.

I am really a lazy person. And because I'm really good at being lazy, I've turned it into a strength.

What are you really good at? I'm sure there's a way to turn that strength into productivity. If I can even do that, then anyone can do it.

how to
1

About the Creator

René Junge

Thriller-author from Hamburg, Germany. Sold over 200.000 E-Books. get informed about new articles: http://bit.ly/ReneJunge

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.