Motivation logo

Power of a Voice!

I am a pursuing writer and voice for a mind that is lost. Hopefully, through podcasting, can those with lost voices be heard!

By Pono AkinaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo from quotefancy.com of Mahatma Gandhi

Humanity, from the moment we could think, have been creating wonderful and awe-inspiring inventions, art, or literature to satiate that instinct. From the creation of the first “Fire”, to the airplane that allows us to get around the world, NOT in 80 days, but in mere days, has been nothing short of extraordinary. We have even landed a human being on the MOON! The power of creation has propelled humanity to newer heights.

I, however, am looking for something that brings us back to earth. Making people look within themselves to see who they truly are. And, if they are wanting to change and create something different, to pursue that endeavor. Creating a new YOU! I am a Christian, a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, and my dream is to create a podcast to talk about how we can reach our potential. Or better yet, to answer the question, “What are potential can be!”

My podcast incorporates a bit of everything that, as humans, we must understand to know who we are and what we can become. Figuring out how, as mankind, we got where we are at today, what our purpose here on Earth is and what our future holds is a few of those things? And because I am religious, I want to incorporate as much as I can about how God fits into all this! But I do not want to limit myself on just my religion. I want to incorporate other religious beliefs, scientific theories, and even atheistic viewpoints on why we are here and where we are going. Only, once we get viewpoints from all different aspects of life, can we figure out who we really are on the inside and what we really want to BECOME!

By Will Francis on Unsplash

Let me give you an example of what I want my Podcast to be by making a list:

1. Because our attention spans have slowly decrease as each decade pasts, my podcast will be within an 8-minute to 15-minute interval. I want to have enough time to discuss what I have researched, but concise and simple enough that it can be within that time for people to get something out of it.

2. Incorporating gospel principles and scriptural references will set a foundation for how I, and my hope others, will perceive our actions, choices, and knowledge of the world around us. More importantly, within in our own selves.

3. But I do not want to just be teaching on a soap box. I want to dive into other religious beliefs, scientific theories, historical events and people, and psychological reasoning. To understand the Big Bang Theory and how it correlates with God. Darwinism and our evolution to where we are now. Freudian theories and what the human psychology incorporates. And so on!

4. Going back to different theories, I believe that, to have a perfect knowledge of oneself, it is impossible, unless we understand where we came from. Looking through biblical and scientifical evidence, hypothesis, and assumptions can we gage every perspective of the human mind.

5. The hope is that we can have a real discussion, without biases, prejudice, judgement, or arguments about who is right. It is not about that. It is about how we view ourselves, how we can change (if need be), and what our potential can be.

This is an outline of where I want my Podcast to go. Or at least the beginnings of what I am trying to structure. Imagine getting up in the morning and turning on your favorite podcast. And the theme of the day is, “How to be a Better You! Through the eyes of Mother Theresa or Steve Jobs!” We can learn from so many great people, events, and theories that we can find out who we are and who we can become. It will take a lot of planning, failures, rough-drafts, constructive criticisms, and dedication to constant changings to get this podcast where I want it to be.

I, however, am not only stopping at podcasting. I am hoping to grow my dream into a full fledge career where I make YouTube videos, write articles on a blog, and have live streams about become a better self. I know that incorporates a lot of aspects and ideas, but I believe to never limit yourself to just one or two things. Mankind is made to create new and wonderful things.

I do not know if this warrants a 1st place in a challenge for a writing website, I have only heard of about two weeks ago, but I know that helping people has always been my biggest goal. I found it hard to pinpoint how I would want to help someone. Would I be a teacher? Maybe I would be a good officer of the law? Or perhaps a doctor? Well, whatever it is, only hearing from other peoples experience and knowledge of how they view the world and our purpose as mankind here on earth will help me reach that goal of helping others.

At least, that is my hope!

Photo By: Pono Akina Rexburg, Idaho Temple

goals
Like

About the Creator

Pono Akina

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.” ~ Maya Angelou

I just want to tell stories!

What's YOUR story?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.