Motivation logo

Povisitity's Assets, Negativity's Liabilities

Where did negativity begin? How do we jump from positive thoughts, ideas, actions, decisions, and choices, to negative ones?

By Annelise Lords Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Image by Annelise Lords

Negative and Positive stand together giving us a choice to grow one of them.

I considered myself to be a very positive person and often wondered, “Where did negativity begin?

What cause us to feed negativity?

How do we jump from positive thoughts, ideas, actions, decisions, and choices, to accepting negativity?

Self-awareness is a tool that can stop negative thoughts, actions, ideas, decisions, and choices. I teach my sons early because I didn’t want them to be left behind or call dunce by other children.

I knew the value of a good education, even though it’s not stressed enough in many areas and homes in my country.

Education is a tool used to fight many things, positivity is one of them.

Ignorance is more expensive than achieving an education. Those lacking certain knowledge will never stop paying. But with your education, after achieving your goal, or your dream comes through, then it’s time to start reaping. Some of us earn and pay, but the payment usually ends. But not with illiteracy.

Your education gives life, hope, and positive resources to your dreams. Ignorance don’t.

I believed that the brain is an asset/tool, and the tongue can be a liability/weapon. I wanted my sons to know how to use their brains as a tool early in life. Because at some point in their lives, depending on how they use their tongue/weapon, the brain/tool will be required to fix it. When humans have problems, they think of solutions.

Self-awareness aids in us knowing the difference between positive and negative elements. And also how to use our brains to make positive changes in our lives.

Boys learn differently from girls.

Our classroom size in Jamaica is between 30 to 60 children, with only one teacher. My sons’ sixth grade had fifty-nine students. Someone should clone that teacher. She did a phenomenal job.

One of my sons got a 97% on one of his math tests in school years ago. When he gave me the test paper, I looked at it. My thoughts and actions immediately went to the two math problems he got wrong.

Then I asked unconsciously, “Where is the other 3 percent?”

There were 80 questions, and he got only two wrong.

Negative thinking, actions, choices, and decisions harm not only the recipient but the giver too.

Instead of congratulating my child for a job well done, I allow my negative thoughts to inflict pain upon him.

This is how tiny negativity is. It usually starts this small. Don’t be fooled by its size. It can destroy years of hard work, happiness, and lives.

Image by Annelise Lords

Then expand rapidly with your help and mine.

It reaches out to us in the most innocent ways. Directly and indirectly. It can lure us from the outside!

Image by Annelise Lords

Then devours us from the inside!

It doesn’t want half or to share.

Image by Annelise Lords

It never stops feasting.

Image by Annelise Lords

It will take all, leaving you with pain and regrets.

Image by Annelise Lords

It is powerless if we don’t let it in. It can’t breathe or live without you and I.

I allowed it in, and I saw and felt the pain in my son’s eyes.

The child in him smiled, pushing it away with respect, he said, “You are weird mother,” walking away without animosity.

Children are one of our best teachers.

I just taught my son how to be negative and hurt him too. We are teaching our children negativity in the simplest ways.

Self-awareness is the tool that will counteract negativity.

I try not to do that again. My reaction was not meant to cause him pain, but it did. I just wanted the best for him. I wanted him to perform at his best, and I know he can. Educationally, they never failed me in any of the significant areas of their education. I got my money’s worth with extra gravy.

Image by Annelise Lords

Negativity begins with us. It is also a liability. Positivity is an asset. Smart, sensible, and innovative people acquire assets.

What about you?

What do you collect?

Both emotions are part of our lives, one hinders, the other helps. Be aware of who does what, and why. Don't let negativity in!

Thank you for reading this piece. I hope you enjoyed it.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Annelise Lords

Annelise Lords writes short inspiring, motivating, thought provoking stories that target and heal the heart. She has added fashion designer to her name. Check out https: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ArtisticYouDesigns?

for my designs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.