Motivation logo

New year, new me...and all that.

No. But really. I feel like a new woman.

By Faye SmithPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
New year, new me...and all that.
Photo by averie woodard on Unsplash

I ended 2020 as many of us did; bewildered by the world of today, terrified for what the future months hold and downright exhausted.

January 2021 hit and something flipped inside me. I suddenly knew what I wanted to be when I grow up...and it wasn't what I was looking at in the mirror.

January 5th 2021. The start of new beginnings. I quit my corporate 9-5 (and all the other hours) job and it felt great. The happenings in the world over the last year had taken its toll on me, I felt at an all time low and struggled to find a reason to get out of bed in the morning. I hated the sloth I had become. So there I was, sat in front of my boss. I'd like to say I was brave and intentional... but I was a blubbering mess, snotting all over my mask. Still, I knew I was doing the right thing and handed in my notice.

Did I have anything to move on to? No. Did I have any money to get by until I did? No. Was I scared? Not even a little bit. nfortunately for us millenials, we have grown up in a society that tells us we need to have the highest paid job, the nicest car, be on the property ladder before 30... so much pressure! But I felt nothing but relief that I could now breathe and figure out exactly who I want to be in 2021.

I have now accepted a part time job which is giving me the perfect opportunity to get creative. I have bought a pottery wheel (never done pottery in my life) but I am sre as hell going to give it my best shot.

I have never felt more content in my life. No corporate pressure, just valuable time to be who I want to be and not who I am told to be.

So I guess this is my list of resolutions for the best year yet (I hope). Feel free to use these as your own and let me know how you get on!

- Be myself. Nobody can do me like I can.

- Stress less. I have just completed a diploma in meditation teaching, it is time to put it into practice.

- I am allowed to say no. Unfortunately, I have grown up in a household where saing "no" was not appreciated. This has followed me into later life and I have always struggled to just tell people I don't want to do something because I don't want to disappoint them. I have now realised that their reaction is their problem and not mine. If I want to stay in bed and chill, I will.

- Stop comparing myself to others and their success. If you have bought a house by the age of 25, congrats! You should be really proud of yourself! I have not and I need to be ok with that, and I need society to be ok with that! If you ask a 25 year old woman why she doesn't have a house yet, why she is not married yet and if she is having children soon- you are rude and need to mind your own.

After writing all of this, I am actually super excited for the year, lockdown or no lockdown. I am going to make the most of every second, relax and relive the pressure I have put on myself for the last 10 years. I am healthy and I am happy and that is good enough for me.

Happy 2021 guys!

With love, Faye x

goals
1

About the Creator

Faye Smith

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.