Motivation logo

Navigating the Rollercoaster of Inconsistency

I've had enough. I refuse to let it hold me back and hinder my progress. I'm devising a plan to overcome this flaw once and for all.

By Eugene LombardPublished about a month ago 2 min read
1
Navigating the Rollercoaster of Inconsistency
Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

My inbox is overflowing with information.

I follow numerous gurus on a variety of subjects.

All offering the latest advice and ‘how to’ knowledge.

As they should, they’re masters of their trade.

I’ve signed up for their newsletters, as I’m in need of their guidance.

I, too, want to become a master of my trade.

I signed up for courses. I devour the content. I stop.

I purchased a subscription. I devour the content. I stop.

I buy in-app services. I devour the content. I stop.

I buy an e-book. I devour the content. I stop.

Do you see the pattern?

It’s not boredom that gets the better of me; the courses don’t suck, I don’t have ADHD.

The actual reason hits a bit harder. It highlights a flaw in me.

A flaw I’ve not been able to shake in my 38 years of living.

That flaw is inconsistency.

I've tried many things throughout my life.

Hobbies, classes, sports, routines, diets, language learning, and writing.

I start off with a bang, get the latest equipment or course, immerse myself, and then stop. I never had any interest to begin with.

Out of sight, out of mind, but I’m always left with one takeaway.

Inconsistency.

Even close friends and family know I can’t stick with something for too long. I don’t dare share too much with them for fear of being told to reconsider my plans. You’re a dreamer, not an achiever.

There are many reasons for my inconsistency. Procrastination being one and poor planning being another (I’ve taken courses on this as well). Psychological reasons aside, I think we leave projects incomplete because we get distracted by believing we need more information. We think we need the latest gadgets or more time to produce something of value.

We put off doing something now because we believe tomorrow will be better. It’s just not true.

All the information in the world will not help me put words on paper, help you become an artist, or get you in better shape.

Yes, words can be encouraging.

People can guide you and support you, but nothing will change until you take action.

How do we take action?

Simple.

  • By sticking to something for once. Choose one thing to work on.
  • By showing up when you said you will. Be intentional with your scheduling.
  • By setting a very simple and achievable goal. 30 minutes a day after lunch.
  • Start with 5 minutes, then 10, until you’ve mastered the ability to complete tasks with ease.
  • Most importantly, don’t waste time on things that are not a priority. Don’t force yourself to do it if you don’t like it.

Begin with a sentence, photograph a cat, sketch an orange, put on your trainers and take a stroll.

Start somewhere and slowly work on becoming more consistent.

I believe Marcus Aurelius wrote something along the lines of "Why put off until tomorrow, what can be done today?"

Less learning, listening and waiting for the right time. More doing.

The present time is the best time.

self helpsuccesshow togoalsadvice
1

About the Creator

Eugene Lombard

Read. Think. Observe. In no particular order.

I write to understand.

I cycle when I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.