Motivation logo

Namaste

The growth of Imara

By OG MaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Hi, my name is Imara. I love being in nature, nature makes me feel serene and at peace with myself. However, there was a time when it didn’t. That time was when I was unable to get myself out of drowning in the depths of my sorrows. I would tell you about it but...I don’t necessarily remember. That’s part of what our brain does to take out memories that...let’s just say aren’t in our best interests. I do remember that nature was something that brought me annoyance. Ugh, the bugs, the loud noises, everything simply reflected how it brought me disturbance. My little sister, however, would say “it’s wonderful, the birds are speaking to me!”. At the time, I had no idea what she was talking about. That’s absurd, how could the birds be speaking to you? I would think to myself but thought it’s just her imagination. I knew that depression was something that I wanted to get rid of but it was hard to see outside of myself, to get out of my mind. It was almost as if my mind was working against me, but how could I be my own enemy? It didn’t help that I had anxiety aswell, seeking out for help was not the easiest experience. How could I reach out if I’m even scared to simply talk to people? What if they judged me? My mind would filled with swarming thoughts that weren’t even true. That’s what anxiety did to me, I would create a whole reality that did not exist..well for the others. I internalized a situation way different than what it actually was. Sometimes how you internalize a situation is not what the situation is. My mind was working full time against me. I was not living how I wanted to live. I knew there was better for me even though it didn’t seem like that. There were times when my mind convinced me that there wasn’t more to life and this was it. That is not true. This life is filled with so much, there’s so much more to life that our minds just simply can’t comprehend it. I decided to meditate out of desperation to get my mind to be silent. I would watch Mooji, a spiritual teacher, and his guided meditation videos but at first I thought “what in the hell is he talking about?”, I gave up. But because my horrible thoughts turned into feelings, anxiety brought me back to Mooji and I decided that I was going to dedicate my time to understand what his words meant. I would attempt meditating for at least 30mins to an hour while listening to Mooji. Eventually, everything he was saying began to make sense to me. My intuition became more clear and I intuitively knew that it wasn’t my mind that was hearing his word..but my heart. Crazzzy stuff right? But it doesn’t seem crazy to me. It makes complete sense to me. As time progressed, everything he said, I felt. The one who meditates will realize that peace is our true nature and there’s no need to be attached to anything because everything simply passes by. Everything is temporary. Live now, live immediately. What you are sad about today will naturally drift off, but when we hold on to it that’s when the suffering continues. Let go knowing that better is coming. I’m not saying letting go is easy but as time goes on and you continue to let go, it becomes easier. Also, let go knowing that you’re helping a lot of things in the process. You are helping yourself grow and you are helping what you are letting go of. Meditation takes time to get right, so be patient with yourself. We spent many years of our minds thinking nonstop, just like we receive breaks on our jobs. Let’s give our mind a break. I now love listening to the wind and match my breathing with it. I act as if the birds talk to me because sometimes it feels like they are. When you meditate, you raise your vibration and animals are attracted to this vibration. Raise your vibrations, and listen to what the animals have to say! They may have the answer you are searching for. Thank you for listening to my story, stay tuned for more to come. Namaste!

advice
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.