Motivation logo

My Trees

Perspective

By Eric SykesPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

I've lived at the same home for over 20 years. Being a young homeowner meant I had to learn to take care of things myself. A right of passage if you will. I have two trees in the front yard and in my first year of home-ownership, I realized these trees were going to need attention. Branches were hanging low. Some over the sidewalk and others a hindrance towards mowing the lawn.

I purchased a 6-foot ladder and small hand saw and planned my cuts. I saw several dead limbs that needed to go. Others that were healthy, however; would need to be sacrificed for the cause. Some of the smaller, dead ones I could whack off with the saw and others just break off with my hands. A lot of branched where easy to reach. Others took some effort. I was forced to stand dangerously on the ladder's top step. Sometimes even climbing the tree itself to properly saw.

When I finished, I had a sore wrist, cut hands, and a wrenched back, but I was pleased with my accomplishment. I drug the dead, and not so dead, branches to the trash and when it was all said and done, I looked at my trees with a sense of pride. Perhaps also hoping to feel a small thanking you for cutting away the dead and making room for the new.

Over the years, I have realized a few things. These branches had been with the trees way before I owned them. They continue to grow and I notice where I had cut the year before. The trees deserve my respect. I always start with the small saplings at the bass and continue upwards. I try and be rational about what needs to go and where to cut. When I see a true dead branch I only cut where the dead begins and life still exists. I must take off the low hanging, weight heavy limbs that are in the way and perhaps a nuisance to the tree itself. And the process continues the following year.

One true consistency is a dead branch that I missed. It never fails. There is always one. But it's ok. I put my tools away and tell myself, 'it's cool, I'll see you next year. And I will look forward to helping you again. And thank you for what you have given me.'

happiness
1

About the Creator

Eric Sykes

I love writing. Short stories, films, music, journaling my dreams, etc. Time for changes in my life and I hope Vocal and you can help. Retired due to Covid, but it at least lead me here. I hope to connect with a lot of you soon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.