Motivation logo

My Spider Senses Are Tingling....

You know that uneasy feeling you get when you know something is off or wrong? I don't know about you, but for me, it ends up with pacing late into the night, mind zooming but unfocused and with no clear path...

By Kamila LadaPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like
If it's functioning, it gives off electricity - be it a human, critter, or lightbulb. 

Spidey sense...what is it?

That uneasy feeling that results in me pacing at night, legs twitchy even after 2 workouts in the day and zero caffeine, or out and about with a feeling of something being off...

I’m not sure if it’s just me having premature overactive maternal instincts from a young age, but I get literally sick with worry...when it comes to certain things. I do not suffer from insomnia, nor do I have restless leg syndrome, or an anxiety disorder, but there are certain nights when I am more antsy than others. I’ve always had a high energy, hence the active lifestyle and tending to stay up at night, but this antsy feeling is different. I don’t know if I’ve been blessed or cursed with a hyperactive gut feeling or what. I don’t know if the familial legends of witches are true either, or if we are just overly sensitive to the vibrations of distressed people.

Something is out there...

Perhaps this is why I enjoy healing others and aim to become a doctor, DO, PA, EMT, paramedic, something to aid the world’s suffering. Perhaps it’s not as altruistic a goal as I previously thought, just a way to ease some of the negative vibrations. I just know that my gut is acutely aware of something. Something out there is moving, shifting, unpleasant whenever I get this antsy late at night. I can’t sleep, with a nagging feeling that one of the people closest to me is in distress, right about now. Someone out there is tossing and turning or worse and I can’t get to them, don’t know who it is so I can help them.

...even if it’s a small house spider

It doesn’t have to be a dire situation, it could just be something as minimal as writing a draft of a cover letter for a job they really want. Or prepping index cards for a presentation. Or as serious as my great grandma’s worsening transition to the hospital.

Sometimes it’s sweet, albeit irritating when my parents come and ask me what’s wrong, either at night or the next day. It’s especially creepy when my mom calls to check on me after waking from a nightmare, right as I leave a club due to a similar uneasy feeling. It’s a strange experience since sometimes it’s right as a friend is about to text me late at night with some news. Once again, could be good, anxiety inducing, or awful.

Good vibes only.

I realize people commonly jokingly say “Good vibes only” and the like, but I notice certain people truly give off some strange vibrations. Thinking it through logically, I suppose it makes sense. We all have our own gravitational fields, down to the elements, which give off their own frequencies and electricities and therefore vibrations. Sharks (and I learned recently cows), have intense senses of smell. Eels can store their electricity to the point of giving off an intended jolt. Orchestra members’ brains can synchronize and hearts beat as one akin to what happens when a massive crowd jumps in unison at a rave. Two good dancers can work terribly or wonderfully together on a social floor to a spontaneous, non-choreographed song.

We all vibrate.

It sounds weird, but this is why monks have been meditating for milenia. Why lullabies work globally. Why potentially, there are people like me who pace all night due to some reason, some friend who you find out later was feeling suicidal. Maybe it is akin to a psychic performing a reading and picking up on microexpressions throughout the day, a week, via text, phone, or face. Maybe ESP readers are a real thing. Maybe Mulder is right and aliens are out there and we are all oblivious and those that stay awake don’t get prodded on a harvesting night. Who knows.

Please keep in mind...

Just, please keep in mind there are people who care. Your vibrations, words, and actions do not just affect your surroundings but they affect your success as well. Say good things to the person in the mirror, repeat positive mantras. Don’t get me wrong, depression is real, and mental disorders are real, but if you can, do try to help rather than hinder yourself. We do tend to be our worst critics, especially those high performance people who statistically tend to have some form of anxiety related issue.

...we are our own worst critics.

There is a saying that (at least for a woman), one negative comment about her appearance takes far too many positives to replace it (could be 10, 50 or 1000 depending on what the negative was, and if it echoes in her head, that counts too).

The same concept applies to your brain. It’s a powerful thing. This is why mind games and ads work, subliminally or full liminaly. Give yourself every opportunity to succeed, especially if that means to feel silly for a moment. Do you know 10 minutes of genuine smiling in the mirror a day, actually increases your endorphins, immune system, and serotonin (all your feel good hormones) and decreases blood pressure and anxiety.

Makes sense. We are the only creatures programmed to understand that baring our teeth is a sign of friendliness, of a sort of submissiveness to happiness rather than dominance as opposed to a threat. Of course, you need to read the eyes to see if there are wrinkles to correspond with the real feeling. Plus, if you smile, you can trick your brain into believing it’s happy over time, and if looking at yourself in the mirror and saying, “hey gorgeous, you’re looking sexy!” doesn’t work, then put a pencil between your teeth. Smile at others, and not only are your vibrations changed, but it changes the physiology of the people around you, as well. They relax, smile, release their happy chemicals as well.

Main point(s):

Listen to (or learn to listen to) your gut. Be aware that your vibrations are a real thing, if not for your sake, then for others. Good vibes are real. Bad vibes are real. Energies are palpable. Perhaps I should be put in a category with the ESP readers, psychics, witches... scientists were always dismissed and called crazy until they were deemed geniuses. And I do love me some cool facts synthesized to support why brains are the way they are. Slay your day.

--K. Lada

healing
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.