Motivation logo

My Passion;My Peace.

A Quiet Storm

By Crystal MaxwellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Stirring in the Dark.

Dear Vocal_Creators,

I am honored to present this essay for your review. The purpose of this statement is to introduce Pretty Paisley Designs, LLC. and show how —over the last year my new found passion has saved my life. This essay will also take you through my journey & discuss how I plan to use my passion to create Social Impact, while growing & sustaining my business.

Pretty Paisley Designs, LLC launched on April 20, 2020. At the height of a Global Pandemic, the world was in a frenzy. Not knowing why our world turned upside down—hearts begin to collapse & minds began to shatter.

To prevent the spread of COVID-19, the CDC recommended wearing face coverings; however, there were no mask insight. All mask were sold out with no hint of when they would return. Nervous, with a 1 year old, and living in an abusive relationship, I pulled out my sewing machine and taught myself how to sew by watching YouTube videos.

Let us take a road down the “makings”, shall we?

1- 22- 20, I made a Vision Board to show a visual representation of my goals. One of my goals was to learn how to sew & sell/ market my products.

2- 11-20- For the first time, I took out of the box a sewing machine that a friend bought for me 8 years ago.🤷

2- 13-20- I attempted to learn how to sew via YouTube. I wasn’t successful and gave up because I couldn’t figure out how to thread the bottom bobbin.🤦 (I still knew how to thread the top bobbin,though😅)

2- 15-20- I gave up! Although I envisioned my apron being the best apron that has been created, I decided learning how to sew an apron just wasn’t for me.

3-13-20- The world begin to shut down due to the pandemic. I begin to learn how to sew fabric masks.

4-20-20- Launched Pretty Paisley Designs and made 53 fabric masks & sent them out to family and friends.

6-15-2020- Received my LLC for Pretty Paisley Designs.

7-8-20- Learned how to Embroider.

9-20-20- Started selling & marketing my handmade/ embroidered masks.

10-20-20- Launched my website: prettypaisleydesigns.com

I truly believe I met my destiny at this moment; exactly at this time.

Over the last 10 years, I allowed myself to be in a relationship where I was abused. I have also allowed those on the inside to attempt to destroy my mind & my well-being.

This past year has been extremely challenging for me, but I made a conscious decision that I would fight to rise above it.

A year ago, when the world shut down, I thought my life would end. Being in an abusive relationship & being a mother with a new baby in tow—I was devastated, hurt, scared, and alone.

Unbeknownst to me, Sewing & Embroidery became my safe haven.

Launching Pretty Paisley Designs couldn’t have come at a better time. It allowed me to see the talented, creative, beautiful person that I am--and realize that I am worthy of pure greatness.

Through Sewing & Embroidery, I found the strength to believe in myself and fight for what I deserved.

I no longer have to believe what others try to say and do just to dim my light. I am free to just be me.

I will fulfill my purpose. In the midst of my struggles, my vision will still come to pass. Why? Because I believe it & no matter how it may seem, great things will happen.

I will no longer hide my truth so that I can avoid being bullied by people who deliberately choose to break me, yet wear a certain face to everyone around them.

Through my platform, I also want to encourage people face pain, anxiety, & depression head on. You will experience pain in life, but you can rise above it and come out stronger.

I believe this is only the beginning. Pretty Paisley currently specializes in making handmade, embroidered mask.(mask photo in main picture) Our uniqueness sets us apart from others, and although you see the design that is in front of the mask, our value is in the message that lies behind the mask. Our goal is to be an energizing force that motivates & inspires all races & all cultures; from different walks of life, to embrace Unity, Respect, Strength, and Acceptance.

My masks have opened the door to an even greater vision. With Embroidery, Screenprinting, and Digital Print, I plan to bring these issues to light using various printable garments. Our goal is to provide a language of Hope. Through our platform, we want to promote Love, not hate; Unity, not Division; Peace, not war. Why you ask? Because we are a nation that is a human race, and that’s it. The same sun that shines on you, shines on everyone else exactly the same.

I am currently a team of one. I am responsible for cutting the fabric, embroidery, creating, managing, videographing, photography, marketing, posting, packaging, shipping & website. I plan to grow & sustain my business by finding a strong team that will help me create a powerful brand, while blazing forward with unorthodox thinking. I plan to invest in a Marketing, Branding, Sales & Retainer Strategies, Print Equipment, Proper Technology, Partnerships, Media Placement, Customer Service & Fulfillment Centers.

Ultimately, my goal is to build & partner with the Sports Leagues, Music Industry, Media, in order to bring greater awareness to the issues.

I hope this essay conveyed the essence of why I believe I am the best recipient for the Thread Your Needle Contest. Thank you & ALWAYS believe.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.