Motivation logo

Believe we are ONE.

Unity.

By Crystal MaxwellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Embroidered Mask

Dear Vocal_Creators,

I am honored to present this essay for your review. The purpose of this statement is to introduce Pretty Paisley Designs and show how I plan to use my passion to create Social Impact, while growing & sustaining my business.

Pretty Paisley Designs, LLC launched on April 20, 2020. At the height of a Global Pandemic, the world was in a frenzy. Not knowing why our world turned upside down—hearts begin to collapse & minds began to shatter.

To prevent the spread of COVID-19, the CDC recommended wearing face coverings; however, there were no mask insight. All mask were sold out with no hint of when they would return. Nervous, with a 1 year old,—I pulled out my sewing machine and taught myself how to sew by watching YouTube videos.

Let us take a road down the “makings”, shall we?

1- 22- 20, I made a Vision Board to show a visual representation of my goals. One of my goals was to learn how to sew & sell/ market my products.

2- 11-20- For the first time, I took out of the box a seeing

machine that a friend bought for me 8 years ago.🤷

2- 13-20- I attempted to learn how to sew via YouTube. I wasn’t successful and gave up because I couldn’t figure out how to thread the bottom bobbin.🤦 (I still knew how to thread the top bobbin,though😅)

2- 15-20- I gave up! Although I envisioned my apron being the best apron that has been created, I decided learning how to sew an apron just wasn’t for me.

3-13-20- The world begin to shut down due to the pandemic. I begin to learn how to sew fabric masks.

4-20-20- Launched Pretty Paisley Designs and made 53 fabric masks & sent them out to family and friends.

6-15-2020- Received my LLC for Pretty Paisley Designs.

7-8-20- Learned how to Embroider.

9-20-20- Started selling & marketing my handmade/ embroidered masks.

10-20-20- Launched my website: prettypaisleydesigns.com

So you ask, whats makes Pretty Paisley Designs a blessing from above? Pretty Paisley currently specializes in making handmade, embroidered mask.

What we do? With our fabric in tow, using my shears, I cut anything from, Chiffon, Cotton, Denim, Silk, Muslin, Spandex, Rayon, Broadcloth, & Fleece into individual pieces to measure 10 by 8 dimensions. Each piece is ironed out and prepped for Embroidery Stitching. Once the Stabilizer is placed on the sheet, along with the fabric, the piece is placed into the Embroidery machine, which is set for the design and thread of choice. The designs are created by me, or ordered online and used as a file. I normally use metallic threading for my embroidery jobs. Once the embroidery job is completed, using my shears, I cut two pieces of fabric to create a liner. (Inside of Mask)

Please see below process:

1.) Creating Liner: Sew the top & bottom side, with a pocket opening (designed for filter)

2.) Using Embroidered Piece & Line, I Create the Pleats using a folding method & iron to press the pleats in place

3.) Fold the sides to create area for Elastics

4.) Sew down sides & cut & insert Elastics + Cords through each side.(Using Safety Pin)

5.) Tadaa! Cut, Embroider, and Sew Project complete just like that! (Please see Morals & Mask photo as an illustration to show some of the work I have done)

Our uniqueness sets us apart from others, and although you see the design that is in front of the mask, our value is in the message that lies behind the mask. Our goal is to be an energizing force that motivates & inspires all races & all cultures; from different walks of life, to embrace Unity, Respect, Strength, and Acceptance.

My masks have opened the door to an even greater vision. With Embroidery, Screenprinting, and Digital Print, I plan to bring these issues to light using various printable garments.

My passion has always been to foster unity through diverse groups by speaking a language of oneness through our printable garments.

Our goal is to provide a language of Hope. Through our platform, we want to promote Love, not hate; Unity, not Division; Peace, not war. Why you ask? Because we are a nation that is a human race, and that’s it. The same sun that shines on you, shines on everyone else exactly the same.

I am currently a team of one. I am responsible for cutting the fabric, embroidery, creating, managing, videographing, photography, marketing, posting, packaging, shipping & website. I plan to grow & sustain my business by finding a strong team that will help me create a powerful brand, while blazing forward with unorthodox thinking. I plan to invest in a Marketing, Branding, Sales & Retainer Strategies, Print Equipment, Proper Technology, Partnerships, Media Placement, Customer Service & Fulfillment Centers.

Ultimately, my goal is to build & partner with the Sports Leagues, Music Industry, Media, in order to bring greater awareness to the issues.

I hope this essay conveyed the essence of why I believe I am the best recipient for the Members Only Contest. Thank you.

Instagram:@prettypaisleydesigns

PRODUCT REVIEW

success
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.