Motivation logo

My Passion for Learning, Creating, and Teaching

Why I read and write as much as I do.

By Daniel GoldmanPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
My Passion for Learning, Creating, and Teaching
Photo by Nick Morrison on Unsplash

It can be difficult to find words to talk about myself in any detail. I prefer to talk about ideas and concepts rather than myself. But I'll try. Apologies if this article sounds a bit like a self interview.

What do I like to do with my time?

I love to learn. I always have. Okay. Maybe "love" isn't the correct word. I'm pretty much obsessed with it. I read through scientific literature and textbooks for fun. I study topic after topic. I take formal courses whenever I have time and money. I took anatomy and physiology for fun, while completing my engineering degree. Yes; people looked at me cross eyed. I piled on as many classes from as many different topics as possible.

I like having new experiences. I enjoy trying new foods and seeing what's available. I want to explore, and want to travel as much as I can. I haven't gone all that far, but I still write about my adventures, and even about my potential future adventures.

I also want to create. The ability to create something new, even if only marginally different from what already exists, is exciting. I've written many articles on platforms like this one, but also a number of scholarly papers. I've started a number of projects, most of which are connected to each other, from blogs to businesses.

And finally, I want to share my passion with others. I want to help others realize how fun it can be to learn and explore, and I want to share what I've learned and created. And that's why I write, and produce content in general. And that's why I'm glad that platforms like Vocal exist. I've been writing for around fifteen years now, and I don't plan on stopping any time soon. I enjoy sharing my thoughts on topics, and educating people.

Of course, a steady revenue stream would be nice. But even without making a lot of money from writing, I find a lot of value in continuing to make content. Writing helps me ensure that my positions are well thought out, and helps me explain those positions to others, in a thoughtful and insightful way.

Sure, when I see a monetary bonus, or a higher than normal payout for the month, I get excited, but that excitement pales in comparison to the job that I experience when someone tells me that they liked my piece, that they found it informative, or that they were inspired by my work. And when someone incorporates my ideas and my work into their own, I become even more excited.

So what exactly do I write about? What areas interest me?

Pretty much all topics interest me, so long as I'm learning, creating, or informing. One of my most recent pieces was on a fun idea I had for a futuristic habitat under the ocean. I'm a major proponent of expanding our living situation beyond just the continents of the Earth, whether it's through ocean living or expanding into space.

Another piece was on the nature and evolution of sex in humans. I also write about most areas involving sex, gender, and race. All together, I have over 500 articles on various topics, from science communication to poetry and fiction. I've been creating content for over 15 years, and I don't plan on stopping any time soon, as long as people continue to learn from what I write about.

What's my background? Why does what I say matter?

That's a hard one honestly. I try to write my arguments out in extreme detail, provide scholarly citation, and provide every detail necessary to justify my stance. But most probably wouldn't say that my knowledge amounts to expertise. I don't have a Ph.D. in any field. I probably never will. I love to learn, but academia is so corrupt that it actually makes learning difficult. I have extensive formal education spread through many fields. I wrote scholarly literature on many topics. But at the end of the day, people should listen to my arguments and look at the data cited, rather than look at my personally. If I were insanely popular, I would hopefully still say the same. Celebrity status is not a substitute for evidence.

What I can say is that I give a perspective that many people cannot. I don't see fields. I don't see biology, chemistry, physics, history, engineering, and the numerous other divisions between human knowledge as anything valid. I see questions, and potential answers. I'm fully willing to call myself a polymath, because I am. And this perspective translates to what I write. And I think others see that. I think it's why people follow me and listen to me. They're looking for a perspective that they cannot get from someone who focuses on a narrow field.

What about my future plans?

I have so many plans. I'm going to continue writing. I don't plan on writing an article every day like I tried to do in the beginning. I burned myself out. I have so many ideas but it takes me a while to get everything translated into the written word. Still, I think two to three articles a week is manageable. I still want to expand my reader base even more, and hope that more people find my work interesting.

I'm also going to continue working on all of my projects. I have some pretty big plans. My core project, The World Builder Initiative, if successful, will do a lot to improve the human condition, including by making it easier for others to learn and create. Our current lifestyles don't leave us much time to actually improve ourselves or the world. And I want to change that. Finally, I truly hope that I'll be able to continue to learn, create, and teach, for years to come.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Daniel Goldman

Visit my homepage. I am a polymath and a rōnin scholar with interests in many areas, including political science, economics, history, and philosophy. I've been writing about all of these topics, and others, for the past two decades.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.