Motivation logo

My New Year's Resolutions

Because I Think it's Time I Improve

By Dani AshPublished 5 years ago 3 min read

This upcoming year will be one of the busiest years of my life. 2019 is the year I graduate from university, get my first real (teaching) adult job, and probably a lot of things in between that I'm not ready for and will have to take in stride. With all this above me, I want to write out my New Year's Resolutions. I want to hold myself accountable and reach new heights, be a better me. So here is my list:

1. Learn to Dance

I have always loved to dance. I used to figure skate as a child. I want to learn to dance for both fitness and fun. I want to budget so I can take lessons and start dancing more than just the Wii game and at clubs. I hope to reach this goal later in the year, as I really can't afford lessons into the new year, but during the summer I may be able to do that.

2. Learn and Practice My Craft

I have recently had a spiritual awakening. Some awful things happened to me recently that led to me rethinking my atheism. I've recently turned to Wicca, and have been exploring its ideas and magick. I've bought some books that I plan on reading. I'm not 100 percent on board yet, but I think I'm going to explore my options, as Wicca hits my beliefs the most. I want to try out different parts of the religion and practice. I look forward to the New Year and trying out this new side of myself that I have been attracted to, honestly, since I was very young.

3. Be Healthy

This one is on my list every year, and every year I struggle. I do not care about looks, I do not care about "weight." What I want is to eat healthily and have a healthy body through fun workouts. This is tied to number one, but I can't wait for when I can afford dance lessons. I want to lower my carb and fat intake to what is needed for my body. I am very small, but I eat like I'm much larger. I just happen to have a good metabolism. I won't forever though, and despite my smaller figure, I am not healthy. So I want to make it a goal to be healthy and work out.

4. Write More (And Make Money with It)

This one I've already gotten started on. And I've already made .87 cents! Wow! Of course, my most read article on here is the one I wrote while I was super high. I hope to write more than just listicles though, despite this one being like one as well. I want to explore fiction and Wicca and much more. I like this platform, easy to use and makes me a little money while I have fun with my writing. I hope to continue to use it and write often so I can continue to improve this skill to make extra money while I am a poorly paid teacher.

5. Be Kinder

I feel like this one will actually be the hardest one for me. I want to be kinder. To my students, to my family, to my friends, and to myself. I want to actively work on changing my mindset to be kinder. This is driven by my will to be happy. It's also driven by my very little knowledge of Wicca and its philosophy. I want to be kinder to the people I love. I don't think I am mean or rude, honestly. But I can get short sometimes and make comments I shouldn't. This is especially true for my family and me. I think I will get there, though. It will just take a very conscious effort to do so.

Well, those are my resolutions. I think it would be good to put on here, in case anyone wants to steal mine. Please tell me about your own resolutions! Also, please tip! The more $$$ the better!! Happy New Year!

goals

About the Creator

Dani Ash

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dani AshWritten by Dani Ash

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.