Motivation logo

My Journey as a Writer

Silencing your writing voice

By Liss SuarezPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Like SIA says always have the Courage to Change. In everything you do. In everything you write. In everyday life. We all are capable to do bigger and better things with our lives. We just need the courage to do it.

Whether it takes you 20yrs, 2yrs or 2days, remember that you're accomplishments are yours. You can write that story. You can publish that book. You can make that music. You can do it. Don't let fear ruin it.

I was 11 when I wrote my first short story. I actually wrote 3. All horror based on the Goosebump novels. After getting reviews that it was too violent, my writing voice was silenced. I didn't try again until I was in my 20s. But by then I lost the horror in me and became a love story girl. I wrote draft after draft and tried to pitch ideas to a few publishing books. All I received were rejection letters after rejection letters. And after the 50 rejection letter after rejection letter, I once again silenced my writing voice.

I once again tried in my 30s, this time I had children, a career and my writing voice once again shifted, this time I was writing short stories on the web, flash-fiction, comedy stories and my novel was still in draft mode. I was afraid of publishing it and getting bad reviews. I kept thinking back to the bad reviews I got from my short stories and the numerous amounts of rejection letters (which were really only like 5)

Then 2020 happened and I thought what better time to finish the novel than now? COVID 19 hit all of us hard. Affected all of us. Some more than others. But one thing it did was bring out the what ifs? What if I did quit my job? What if I spent time with my family? What if did nothing? What if I worked less? All the what if's that we pushed away in the years before.

Why? Because 2020 brought uncertainty for the future even as we are approaching the 3rd month of 202. It took 10months in 2020 to decide that I was going to complete my draft novel. I joined a writing platform and started to write Chapter after Chapter after Chapter. I wrote my first 8,000 word story, finished it. I was proud. It needs revising but I was able to finish it and that is what counts.

I decided to try again. Chapter after Chapter after Chapter. 3,000 words and not finished yet . I tried once more. Chapter after Chapter after Chapter. I am up to 50,000 words and still not finished yet. I am going to do a happy dance once I am done with it. It has close to 26 chapters and I look at it and think wow I did that. I plan to publish this one soon.

By Austin Schmid on Unsplash

I am already writing another book. This one I plan to go longer. I am going to push myself and make it 50 to 100 chapters. Maybe make it a series. Who knows where it will lead me? I am no longer going to let the world silence my writing voice.

Writing can also be therapeutic and help with things like depression or anxiety. Next book after that I'll make it to 200 chapters. Ok maybe that is too much haha. Or is it? Besides who is going to stop you from writing? The only person who can do that would be yourself. Don't silence yourself. Write that music. Write that book. You can do it. Don't let fear ruin it. Have the courage to change.

goals
1

About the Creator

Liss Suarez

Author (Thriller/Mystery/Paranormal)

Mom of 👨👩👨

Wannabe Comedian

Never give up 👏

Success is yours 🙌

I accept everyone for who they are 💙

#selfpublished

lisssuarez.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.