Families logo

The Gift

The little black book with $20,000 in it

By Liss SuarezPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

40. That's how old I am going to turn on Sunday. Tomorrow. I was going to be 40, tomorrow. I looked at myself in the mirror and didn't see any lines or wrinkles to confirm that. I always made it a point to celebrate my birthday every year, because to me life is a blessing and we should always embrace it.

However this year was going to be different. This will be my first year without my grandmother. I admired her so much. She always had the best advice and the greatest stories. I never wanted it to end. Plus her food was always amazing.

She passed away last week and I have yet to go through her things. I was hoping that it was a lie. That I would get a call saying that she was in the hospital recovering. Or that she would walk in through the front door and tell me that everything was ok. But I knew that the call would never be made. I was old enough to know that she wasn't coming back. I knew I had to go through her things one day. I decided to wait until after my birthday to tackle it.

Another day wouldn't hurt. Besides I was her only family. My parents had died when I was young and she had raised me on her own until I had kids of my own. They all grew up and are attending college. It's just me again in this house. I walk into the bedroom and go into the closet, grab a box and start going through gifts she had given throughout my life.

A crystal ball, a music box, an ornament, shoes, clothes, books and so much more. She knew me so well. I kept everything she gave me just so I could remember her when she was gone. I just didn't think it would happen so soon. As I grab the other box of stuff, the doorbell rings.

I put the box on the bed and walk down the hallway to the door. I look through the peephole and don't see anyone. With the chain on the door, I open the door just an inch. On the floor, is a box with a big red bow on it.

I open the door and grab the box and walk to the living room to open it. I stop myself though as all these questions started going through my mind. Who could have sent me a gift? And why did it get here today and not tomorrow? I had too many questions that opening the gift could probably answer.

I open the box carefully removing the red bow and pulling on the ribbons. The box makes a pop sound, opens apart, with confetti all over and in the middle a little black book, pops up from it. Trying to calm down from the heart attack I almost got from that scare, I carefully pick up the little black book, afraid it would set off something else.

Nothing else went off on the box and I was able to place the little black book on my palm. I open the book and realize it is a journal with dates that went all the way back to 1939. I realize as I read that it was a diary. My grandmother's diary. As I sift through the pages, I come across an envelope.

I open the envelope to find $20,000. The cash looked new though and I was curious now how this money got into this book. I mean we already had the money for the funeral. Grandma made sure that I wouldn't have to use any of my own.

I sift through the pages again and come across a note "Dear Eliza, If you are reading this, this means that I have gone with the angels that we always talked about when you were a child. I don't want you to be sad. I also want to make sure that you are good, so I placed $20,000 in this book and mailed it to you. I have faith that it reached you. Happy birthday bug. I love you forever and always. Nane M." It was dated tomorrow.

By Ashkan Forouzani on Unsplash

grandparents
2

About the Creator

Liss Suarez

Author (Thriller/Mystery/Paranormal)

Mom of 👨👩👨

Wannabe Comedian

Never give up 👏

Success is yours 🙌

I accept everyone for who they are 💙

#selfpublished

lisssuarez.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.