Motivation logo

My Goal Driven Future

It’s Time To Beat Procrastination : Day 2

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 5 min read
My Goal Driven Future
Photo by Joshua Rondeau on Unsplash

Yesterday a fellow author, prompted us to discover our ‘why’ we procrastinate. That was a learning curve all on its own.

Now that I know the why, I can start to chip away at my reasoning with the eventual hope of putting procrastination to bed, once and for all.

Baby steps………step one is today’s prompt………What are the 10 goals that you want to achieve this month?

So here goes, because I feel if I set my goals and publish this article, then I’m going have to work harder to hold myself accountable.

My 10 goals for this month :

* Restart my weight loss regime

* Minimum of 30 minutes exercise per day

* Increase my walking program

* Return to my Keto diet

* Increase my yoga program

* Organise a weekly outing with Mother Nature

* Stop procrastinating on that one important task

* Write on a daily basis

* Commence decluttering my house

* Start organising for Christmas

Only a few small goals for the month.

Restart my weight loss regime

Shock, horror but I had another birthday in October and the magic of celebrating this with my boys also came with the one unwanted side effect — the undoing of all my hard work and the return of the little weight I had lost.

This totally derailed me and for the last three weeks I have been procrastinating the restart of my effort to lose the weight.

Minimum of 30 minutes exercise per day

My pet hate, a repetitive exercise regime. Three rounds of squats, three rounds of crunches, three rounds of push ups and on and on and on it goes…………boring!!! There’s got to be a better way and I plan to find it.

Maybe I could dance while holding weights?

Anything has to be better than a regimented set of exercises that bore me to death. I may doing the boring program for a few weeks but then it drops by the wayside.

Increase my walking program

Again, boring! Now if I still lived at the beach, then not a problem. I used to look forward to my daily walk on the beach. Now, it’s not an option unless I want to drive two hours each way every day. Not sustainable.

So my goal this month is to make those music playlists I’ve been procrastinating about, so that I can bop along on my boring suburban daily walks, that take me past the same scenery day in day out.

Return to my Keto diet

This is an easy goal as I order my Keto meals online and have them delivered to me on a weekly basis, fully prepared. A simple matter of nuking in the microwave for two minutes and Bob’s your uncle. Well he’s somebody’s uncle……..but he’s not mine.

The difficult part is sticking to it.

I so miss that yummy, sticky, glue to the top of your month, gluten and all the delicious carbs available by food delivery, at a click of a button.

You know the ones I’m talking about : bread, scones and my newest discovery this last twelve months — icecream. I know, I know, I’m a little strange. It’s taken me over fifty years to discover that I do, in fact, love icecream!

Love…….OMG this has tried to turn into a passionate, all consuming love affair!

Unfortunately I am gluten intolerant and I suffer terribly every time I break my Keto diet.

Increase my yoga program

Another task I procrastinate over. I want to increase my yoga from once a week to twice a week. What’s so hard about that? It’s finding the right time to fit it in but I will endeavour to meet this goal this month.

Organise a weekly outing with Mother Nature

Here I am complaining about my boring walks, so it’s time I spice it up and organise a weekly trip to the beach or a hike through the rainforest. I am a terrible homebody, who can happily amuse herself at home for weeks on end. Time to stretch my comfort zone and get out at least once a week.

Stop procrastinating on that one important task

I have this monumental task that’s been constantly hanging over my head and I keep promising myself I will start putting a plan in action tomorrow. Yes, you guessed it. Tomorrow never comes so this task is hanging over my head like a dark storm cloud.

Time to act……this month…….time to find my tomorrow!

Write on a daily basis

I do write most days but there are usually four to seven days a month that I drop that ball. I’d like November to be my first month of writing every single day.

Commence decluttering my house

Another task I have been contemplating for the last twelve months. As I get older I find I’m becoming more and more the minimalist and I hate the every day clutter.

As I’ve lived in this house for the last five years, the clutter has slowly accumulated to the point where I don’t know where to start. As I plan to move in October 2022, it’s important that I stop procrastinating and just get it done!

Start organising for Christmas

Ahhhhhh Christmas time………my favourite time of the year. Usually just my boys and I and their partners, if they have partners at the time. It’s a small affair but still takes some organising.

I love to spoil my boys, so it’s time to start gift hunting. Then as we get a little closer, I will need to put a menu together for Christmas lunch. It’s usually some variant of Roast Turkey, cranberry sauce, roast vegetables and gravy. My boys look forward to this delicious lunch each year.

——

So there are my goals for November. Can I do it? I guess time will tell but I do intend to give it all I’ve got.

What goals do you need to put in place in the near future?

**********************************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

goals

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.