Motivation logo

My Eyes Seeing Inner Peace

By Shakara M

By ShaKara McCalleyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

The times I’ve felt the most at peace is writing and drawing out something that’s never been seen before, like being the first person to watch a movie that no one else has heard of. What I consider inner peace is when I’m happy, clear headed, and able to express that same feeling with my art and stories. For me that’s being able to create something from my imagination and turn it into something tangible that I can refer back to like recalling a wonderful dream. More times than not I’m by myself listening to music and in those times I sit back with my imagination and want to make something out of my thoughts, in my case it’s drawing. Something that helps me feel this inner peace is drawing and writing stories about my dreams from the nights before. Nothing to in depth like a lifelong dream but something that happened in my imagination while sleeping or listening to music that I can express through my art. I love to draw out the people or creatures I saw in my dream and give them a story that fits them and their different personalities. Sometimes in my dreams I’m viewing other people’s lives and sometimes I’m someone in the dream seeing it through their eyes. My true inner peace is when I can zone out and make those stories in my head and give them a form for myself to see and experience. It’s not always a dream that leads to me drawing and writing but it does make me feel at ease mentally and physically. This expression of creation is definitely something I’d consider a source of happiness that I enjoy for myself.

While creating a story or drawing a picture for it, the feeling I get with just being able to make something is genuinely amazing. I sometimes feel very unfulfilled and unmotivated to do a lot of things but when I can create something, I have a chance to start and finish something just for me. Being able to have that type of freedom in my life and be motivated to do it has made a place for my heart and head to feel at ease. Not an assignment, not a job, just a way for me to be my most creative self. Like a safe space where I can make what I want in the way I want it. It brings me to a space where I can clear out everything in my head and make something really interesting with lots of passion that I don’t always get to express outside of my drawings and written stories.

When I make a story or an idea for a drawing I love the potential of where it can go and creating stories has always been an outlet I use to let my creativity flow. Adding drawings and illustrations to the stories or dreams that I have always brings me to my happiest points and excites me to do more and more each time. For me inner peace isn’t just a moment in time, but in a way, a place that I can go to and from when I really need to. Like a dream it comes and goes, but for my inner peace, I think of it as a recurring dream that’s guaranteed to be good. I always know that I can experience it and it’ll be something for me to actually feel relief with, which is something everyone needs in one way or another. It’s like a refresher to rejuvenate yourself, and to me drawing something from a dream and making a fun little story about it is such a great way for me to experience that true inner peace that’s unique to me and my creative dreams. Something that’s not so easily replicated because it’s never existed outside of my head or my drawings, something completely new that I just came up with and was able to give a tangible shape. Creation and inner peace definitely go hand and hand in my eyes and every time I dive into my craft, I know it will be something different and all my own.

When I was younger I didn’t really know much about anything and didn’t really have anything to stress about that would warrant a type of inner peace, but growing up always shows you new things and new changes. For me I definitely needed a form of inner peace and something to keep me calm and relaxed. I’ve always been a little artist that drew pictures from time to time and I wrote stories but they never really went anywhere because I was so young. I was always drawing but never really thought about why and maybe it was because it helped me feel at ease. People at school growing up would always see my notebooks filled with little poems with illustrations in them and ask what the drawing was or what’s the story about, and I’d always say it’s just something I like to do. I was never really the type to be a storyteller but I definitely loved being the author writing behind the pages. When it came to drawing and writing stories it was always there for me and always something I knew I could do and made me the happiest.

Creating something in the form of a story or drawing makes me feel the most like myself. Feeling fully calm and passionate on where my imagination will take me makes me feel so good inside to the point where I can’t compare this feeling to anything but my inner happiness that’s unique to me and what I find peaceful. I also do photography from time to time, mostly taking pictures of nature and plants, but I find creating a story and art is something a picture can’t quite grasp in the same way. I like the feeling it brings when I start something and not worrying whether or not it’s relevant to other people because it’s just something I do with my time. I’m glad to say that I’ve made more time to indulge in this side of my inner peace and relax just to write or draw away the stress of everyday life. I’ll always continue to have this kind of creation to myself and that to me is truly inner peace.

healing
Like

About the Creator

ShaKara McCalley

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.