Motivation logo

My Coming Out

Personal Experience

By nokomis kempPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Hi, My name is Nathaniel Kemp or previously known as Nokomis Kemp and this is my story. I am female to male transgender and I feel like we need to normalize our stories and share them with everyone even with all the differences on the world. I knew I was different at a very young age. I was still in elementary school when I really knew. I never came out until my senior year of high school which was in 2017. School was really hard especially since I was the type of person who really dressed as they felt. I dressed as a dude some days and dressed as a girly girl the next and I got picked on a lot for that, but that was me. It was who I was. It was who I desired myself as, but as I got older things started to change. I had started to over feminize myself because I was starting to feel some disassociation with my body. This was around my freshman year that I started really worrying myself with what was going on. Although I never had the nerves to go to my mom about it because her ex-husband I ended up just keeping it to myself. A couple years had gone I was dressing however I wanted just like I did I’m elementary school and people still saw me as a freak but I was just being me. I think what pushed me the most on coming out in my senior year was when my grandma was dying in the hospital and I know I couldn’t bare her not seeing live up to who I wanted myself to be. My grandma did end up passing away earlier that year but I still came out for her because she always knew that I was meant to be something better and something greater. She always told me to never be ashamed of who I was and that’s what really pushed me to come out to my mom even though I still had a lot of doubt because I never knew if she would support me or not. Fast forward about a year and a half when I moved out and I started my medical transition. I’m currently 2 years and some months on testosterone and I couldn’t be happier. There are still struggles I deal with in this life as now I’m 21. Theres dating and now being accepted by a partner. There’s also workforce’s who don’t really accept it either but we manage. Mind you this was just a summed up version of my coming out story. I love myself now more than I ever have.

•wise words of my grandma

“Please never be ashamed to be yourself. There’s only one of you. Just be you.”

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.