Motivation logo

My Biggest Goal

Getting better as a writer

By Hadayai Majeed aka Dora SpencerPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
My Biggest Goal
Photo by Mark Neal on Unsplash

My biggest goal is to end my life being fulfilled and ready to die. Right now, I am writing and researching my family history. I want to leave a volume of basic facts, photos and some profiles so any family member who wants it and is willing to pay a very modest price, enough to cover some of the money that has gone into it, can have one. Then I want to take the information in the volume and write about my family. Some of it will be in the form of profiles (hopefully with photos) and a narrative focusing on our ancestors who I can find more than a few words of information about them.

So far, I have been consistently writing short stores and posting them on Vocal.Media a creative platform for all types of writers. Some creatives who are members are song writer’s others are poets and short story writers (all genres). The platform boasts of having playwrights, journalist and bloggers as well. Since I have joined in July 2021, I have completed 38 short stories and six poems. Last November I published a book of some of my short stories, poems and a few poems of another poet I know and photos of original abstract visual art and collages. Pieces of Me with Company is now available on Amazon and is selling at a slow pace however it is selling. To date I have received seven reviews all were five stars (top rating).

Since joining Vocal.Media for free last July I have upgraded my membership to paid and entered two contest. One of the contests the We Have a Dream Challenge I was one of 50 runner ups and received a $50 prize. This is listed as an accomplishment at the top of my profile page. You are encouraged to send the link to your individual short stories and your whole profile to people inviting them to read your work. People who receive your links are asked to comment on your work. This helps you know how people view your work and what areas you need to do more work on and improve to make your work better.

My dream is to live long enough to get good enough to make it on one of the best sellers lists at list once and stay on the list for a couple of weeks at least. This means I will have sold a high volume of books and earned enough money to really do some of what I have listed on my Life To-Do list. One of the items is to retire my husband from working six sometimes seven days per week to take care of us. He is a workaholic and will work as long as he can get up and get to our family business. This is going to happen no matter what I do. He is not the stay at home and do nothing type of person. My plan is to temp him into taking off a few days at a time. I also want to be able to invest some substantial money into my sons’ food truck business. He has worked hard to make it happen. He puts the truck on the street now during the spring and summer on weekends. I know he wants to put the truck on the street full-time and be able to hire a staff. This is going to take some money and I want to be able to say, “here son this is my contribution to your business.” I want to be able to give him at least $50K and it not bother me at all. This way he can leave his full-time job at a school system and do what he really wants to do.

Before I die, I want to grow my publishing company to the point it has two or three authors in our stable. This will take about $250,000 to accomplish. So, I must stay busy writing and promoting my writing. First, I must train my niche to be ready to buy my books when they are launched. To do this I must write well and keep them wanting for more. My goal is to publish a book every odd year. To be able to accomplish this I must write a minimum of two hours per day at least five days per week. The days I am not writing I will need to plan for the next story and eventually my 200+page book.

This week I was able to complete two stories and posted them to Vocal.Media. Every day I post them to Facebook and twitter in hopes to get them read by people who follow me. When all goes well, I get 20-30 reads per week, this is on the low side however I am not paying to get my stories read. If I am patient my Facebook friends and people who follow me on twitter will get around to reading them and take advantage of making comments. The more I can get them to make comments the better writer I become. This is the foundation of the dream is to become better each day that I write. Once I achieve this I can venture into writing for the large and small screen.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Hadayai Majeed aka Dora Spencer

Hadayai Majeed writes short, intriguing stories in many genres. The Joy of Islam series and Pieces of Me with Company are collections of her diverse works and those of others. Each book is unique always leaving the reader wanting for more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.