Motivation logo

Motivation

The Key to Success

By Wolf SpiritPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Cougar in Aspen by N. Spoor

I have been blessed with two very unique talents that being an exceptional pencil artist, and an author/storyteller. But, have never had the motivation to combine the two gifts until... Now!

I woke up in the middle of the night with one of those gut instincts to jump up, and scribble my ideas down on paper, and I did exatly that last night. I have thought of this before, but since I have twenty-two sketch books filled with well the more provactive sexual acts between the vast majority of homo-sapiens. I wondered how my book may be recieved by the public.

Not only are my drawings provacative, but they are very detailed, as well as any good artist can relate. Something in my deviant make-up makes my heart race when I draw these types of scenes. The Bad-Boy Syndrome at play!

In all fairness I do draw country birds, wildlife and people or whatever grabs my interest on any given day.

Maybe there should be two books? One sexually explicit and the other Mother Natures Bounty. Hard to decide without any feedback, as to what the niches available are on the web. I have self-published my last three books on my real-life adventures, and wonder if I should continue on this path... What do you think? Yes or No.

......................................

Tumbling down the rabbit hole:

February 2020 I had an editor look at a book I self-published tittled 'Cabin Fever' and after reading her report was devasted, as she said I wrote at the level of a seven grader, and thought I should be at least writing at a tenth grade level. A grave blow that struck me down, as an author, and an artist, as I stopped drawing, and felt disheartened. A major setback of my self-confidance, and I just tumbled downhill from there like a snowball. My ego bruised, and battered it was not until two weeks ago when I submitted a story to Vocal.media tittled 'My Golden Buzzer' and was amazed to see the story published in Wander that my self-confidence was restored. I jumped up in the air and pumped my arm screaming... YES!!

To date I believe I have twelve stories written and all published in short order giving me a huge boost, and I even started to enter challenges with mulitple entries. Afterall, I believe wholeheartly that my stories are good enough to win challenges, as I have as much chance, as any author here.

How it all began:

Thinking back to the winter of 1992 when I enrolled in an I.C.S. corresondence Drafting course, and putting all my effort in making clean, pencil, mechanical drawings. I was rewarded with a 93% final grade. A huge boost to my self-confidance back then, as I had scraped through highschool, or what I believe now that I had been pushed through, as I had been a disruptive teenager, and the school administration only wanted to get rid of me. (May 1977)

I knew I was intelligent, but I was a hands on pupil. Reading from texts and taking notes were my downfall, so I just never did any homework, or studied. But you know where that got me... nowhere fast. Mostly labor jobs and dead end work with no advancement.

At age 50 while living on Vancouver Island I decided to go back to school, and take Math, and English 11. Math was a dismal attempt, as allegebra, and functios were well beyond my comprehension. Now, English 11 was essays something at first I thought I would never enjoy. All that soon changed, as we were given assignments where we needed to do some research on a topic we chose, and write an essay on that topic.

I remember the lady teacher with the wild, red hair pulling me aside one day after class, and showing me the story I handed in. At first all I could see was the multiple red marks across my story. Nick, she said to me do not look at the red marks although they are important, and your grammar, and punctuation needs work your storyline was very interesting to read. I get so bored reading the rest of the classes work, but when you write I am engaged, and want to read the whole paper until the end.

Marketing:

My nemisis how to get my art, or book noticed, and sold. I tried Amazon and a website, but just do not have the aptitude to attract art afficandos and readers.

I need the right person....

You cannot do everything yourself. True, but I often say just watch me. Now, I beg to differ, and ask the right person to help launch my carreer, as both a pencil artist, and author.

I need your help...

.............................................

Author's Note: As my self confidance grows I am drawn to the possibities that my stories, and art work may one day make me famous. A Dream in the making...

I appreciate and am grateful to all my fans for sharing my stories world wide.

Contact: [email protected]

success
1

About the Creator

Wolf Spirit

Wilderness adventures and wildlife encounters have given rise to more than thirty-four real-life stories during 2014-15. Over the past ten years living in solitude I have been known to the locals, as 'a character' that you should meet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.