Motivation logo

Home; Chaunigan Lake Lodge

Where my Heart and Soul Sings

By Wolf SpiritPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Konni Mountain Look Out

Home....I sigh and remember this very spot where I stood and gazed on Mother Nature's glory. The scenic vistas in all directions blew my mind, as I removed my Nikon camera from its case and began filming the splendor before me. Right below was Konni Lake, as I filmed its entire length then Nemiah Lake and off in the distance Chilko Lake with its turquoise waters, and neat, needle, pebbled beaches.

I panned my camera to the right capturing the Nemaih Mountain Range then closer to the summit of Konni Mountain just to my right. Then as I walked a short distance I found a wooden bench, and sat there marvelling at the spectacular scenery while both Jenny my husky mix, and Maggie my black lab took the opportuntity to sniff around.

I believe this first; came about sometime in June of 2015 when I began exploring the many trails throughout the plateau which I called home. Every chance I got I went out into the bush looking for slashes that marked a trail, or a bit of ribbon, or just the natural terrian. At first the dogs, and I bushwhacked and then when we would come across a section of trail. I would look left, and right, and walk in either direction for a while discerning whether, or not I found the trail a worthy cause. Then would pick one direction and see where the trail led. Lucky, for me I had a sixth sense and rarely got lost out in the bush. Those times that I did feel lost I would stop and tell myself not to panic, take a moment, and relax. Then look around, and try to discern which way was west, for I knew at that time of the year (June) the sun travelled just west of Chaunigan Mountain.

I always dressed in paratrooper pants mainly because I liked all the pockets the pants provided. In my left knee pocket I carried two pressure bandages while in my right knee pocket I had two rolled elastic bandages. In my right hip pocket I stuffed a few Nature Valley oat bars to share with the dogs when we stopped for a rest.

Back in those days I also carried a hunters, camouflaged backpack with extra clothing, an emergency blanket, small fishing kit, and matches along with chicken, bullion cubes, and a few packs of Mr. Noodles. Other items included some meds, and one of those Rambo styled knifes along with a folding hand saw.

In all the years I ventured in the bush I never carried a firearm, but did have a six inch, straight edged knife strapped to my right hip. I was in my element and never feared for my safety. Always staying calm when encountering wildlife, and allowing the animal an avenue of escape.

Some people would say I was fool-hardy, and taking a chance. I even remember one year a neighbor offered me a pistol-grip, single shot, shotgun I could carry with me when out in the wilderness. Then another year a friend, and his fishing buddy bought me one of those personal locator beacons. Well, I still have that electronic device and keep it updated with N.O.A.A. just in case some ill begotten emergency arises.

I spent those seven years exploring where others feared to tread more than often off the beaten track just following one game trail, or another. I tracked bear, moose, deer, and wolves even the mob of wild horses, but rarely crossed the tracks of a mountain lion.

I did have my share of run-ins with some of the local wildlife particularly a number of black bears one of whom I nic-named 'Scar Face' for his rather scarred face then there was 'Three-toes' a huge boar grizzly that roamed the backside of the Nemaih Mountain Range, and a couple of cow moose that charged me on two separate occasions, but nothing compared to a wild stallion who thought I got to close to his mares.

The day I recieved my Honda quad was the day I could get further out from my home base at Chaunigan Lake Lodge. The quad offered me the mobility, and I quickly made some necessary changes by adding a three sided wooden box to the rear with a thick cushion where Maggie could sit since she was crippled with arthritis. Then I set about finding a way to strap both a chainsaw and extra mixed gas, and bar oil to the front rack. All set we set off one cool morning to open up the first of several trails.

Those first days were the toughest, and required many stops, and chain saw work to remove the fallen pine, and spruce trees that littered the trails. Most people would have shunned the work, but I on the other hand marvelled, and enjoyed seeing what was around the next bend in the trail. I would carry on until tuckered out then call it quits until a later date. That first summer (2015) I was out on the trails ever chance I got, and I remember a neighbor asking why I was doing all this work and not getting paid. And I replied because I enjoy the adventure.

I lived on the property year round, and winters by far were the toughest, as there was no running water or electricity unless I fired up my Honda generator. Luckily, the internet worked if and when the generator was running, but like all things Chaunigan I had many challenges to over come being snowbound for seven months each year. That meant I needed to buy enough groceries for two hundred and forty breakfast, lunch and dinners. A far cry from your weekly grocery order. The dogfood bill came to around a thousand dollars and my food around twenty-five hundred dollars. All said and done what every was stored away would have to last until the first week of May the following year.

The first year with a limited income meant I was going to eat rice and beans, but as the winters passed I was able to purchase a wider base of dry food stuffs and even those last couple of years I managed to fill the propane freezer with meat.

That first winter 2012-13 was the toughest, as not only was I eating rice and beans, but I had never not worked before, and I wondered how I was going to fill my days. I certainly could not sit on my ass all winter that would drive me insane. Well, I did draw on occasion over the years and so I took up a pencil, and began to draw all the country birds I could find in a bird atlas I had brought with me.

I also got out each day and packed a five kilometer circular snowshoe trail which I snowshoed each day with the dogs for exercise. At the time I had a Canon camera and was able to capture some footage of the surrounding wilderness.

By the 2014-15 winter I began to write stories of my summertime experiences and even wrote a self-published book titled 'Cabin Fever'. This was the third real-life adventure book, and sold out in just three weeks. Mostly because guests would listen at one of my campfire sessions when I told my stories then would ask for a signed copy they could keep, as a memento of their time spent at the lodge.

I saw myself standing in front of the lodge with Jenny, and Maggie and we do look the part of adventurers. Sadly, we are not the owners of the property, but I have set in motion a deep desire to be and if everything turns out by June 2nd, 2021 I will be driving home in my new red Chevy Silverado with the deed to Chaunigan Lake Lodge in my blue suitcase.

...................................................

Author's Note: My real-life adventure stories all stem from my time spent in the pristine, wilderness location I called 'Home' and Chaunigan Lake Lodge. It is my hope that the more I share of that time the more I will be in alignment with my desires.

Please continue to follow my excerpts and share them with family and friends alike!

I appreciate and am grateful to my fans for promoting my stories to the world!

Contact: [email protected]

goals
1

About the Creator

Wolf Spirit

Wilderness adventures and wildlife encounters have given rise to more than thirty-four real-life stories during 2014-15. Over the past ten years living in solitude I have been known to the locals, as 'a character' that you should meet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.