Motivation logo

More Than Black-Eyed Peas

A New Year Standard

By T L SmithPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

“I woke up today, so I must have a purpose.” My friend told me these words one time. So simple, yet it makes so much sense. I have had several major life transitions. Before each transition, I had one major question: What was the purpose of the years that just passed? What do I have to show for what I have just come through? Sometimes I have no answer. Since then, probably once a week, I reevaluate if I am living life on purpose or living it passively. While many people spend the end of the year making resolutions for the year to come, I tend to reflect on the year that has passed to see how I have lived. There is another habit I have begun at the turn of the year.

Many years ago my sister told me to be careful about how I spend the New Year because I will be doing that same thing for the rest of the year. I was like . . . okay, right. Then I thought about it. The time I wrung in the New Year on a road trip was the year I made a brief move halfway across the country followed by a move halfway around the world. There was also a time when I visited a friend in a nearby state, and I drove home on New Year’s Day. I spent so much time on the road driving that year. I really started to believe my sister’s words.

I started to be more careful about my New Year’s activities. I don’t mind going out if there is an activity that sounds interesting; however, I actually prefer to be home with the family. One year, I decided that I wanted to have an easier year. I did as little as possible on New Year’s Day. I did not leave the house. I did not study or prepare for work. I cooked as little as possible. I did minimal to no laundry or cleaning. If I remember correctly, that plan backfired. That may be the year that I quit my full-time job. I was going to return to school, but I did not get in that year. I was home with not much to do and work was not stable.

So now I am invested in this whole New Year’s theory. I plan my end of the year purposely. I plan ahead, which is just good practice anyway. Don’t even think about asking me to run errands or do things that I know I don’t want to spend the year doing. I make sure I engage in things that I want to do in the coming year. I relax and have fun. I like movies and the company of my family. I try to do things with them. The exception was if I needed to travel when I lived out of state. It just happened that flights were cheaper that day. In that case, I did not mind being alone and breaking the rules. Even throughout the year, I, as an introvert, thrive on my alone time. I make sure I eat good food (and some not-so-good food because I enjoy that too). I engage my mind whether it is in a puzzle, game, book, assignment (because I am usually a student or a teacher at some point during the year), or similar thing. I do something involving my faith because I want my faith to grow. Also, I am always moving about the house. Moving around does not necessarily indicate exercise, but I do not necessarily want to be sedentary either. These areas of activity, family, mind, spirit, and faith are all important to me. I am always conscious of finding balance among them. Rather than making some great challenge or resolution for each January (because I never was able to stick to them anyway), I just look for ways to find purpose in those things that are important to me. Finding motivation for a goal is always easier when the goal is something in which I already have a vested interest. I try to find ways to shine brighter in the places that I already shine. Often during the week, I can look back and find a moment when my life had a purpose. At each New Year, I can just look for ways to improve upon what is already working.

goals
Like

About the Creator

T L Smith

I have many interests and a few talents. I have liked to write since I was in middle school. I have not done much with my writing except to amuse my friends. My main focus is on teaching and caring for my family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.