Motivation logo

Moment when you felt deeply understood

There are few things in life that feel more comforting

By KingPhiloPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Moment when you felt deeply understood
Photo by Jakub Pabis on Unsplash

There are few things in life that feel more comforting than being truly understood by another person. To be seen and heard, to have someone else fully grasp the complexity of our thoughts and emotions, can be a transformative experience that leaves us feeling validated, accepted, and at peace.

For me, one of those moments of deep understanding came during a conversation with a close friend. We had been friends for years, and while we had always been able to talk about a wide range of topics with ease, I had never quite felt like I had been able to fully articulate some of the more complicated emotions I was grappling with.

That all changed one day when we were sitting in a park, chatting about life and everything in between. I had been going through a particularly tough time, dealing with a lot of anxiety and uncertainty about the future. I tried my best to explain how I was feeling, but I found myself stumbling over my words, struggling to put into language the full weight of what was weighing on me.

But my friend didn't rush me or interrupt me. They listened patiently, asking questions and offering reassurance when I needed it. And then, without warning, they said something that stopped me in my tracks.

"I understand," they said simply. "I've been there too.

At first, I was taken aback. I had been so wrapped up in my own struggles that I had forgotten that my friend had their own struggles too. But as they continued to talk, sharing their own experiences and offering advice and support, I felt a weight lift off my shoulders. For the first time in a long time, I felt like I wasn't alone in my struggles, like someone else truly understood what I was going through.

It was a small moment, in the grand scheme of things. We were just two friends talking in a park. But in that moment, I felt seen and heard in a way that I had never felt before. And that simple act of understanding was enough to give me the strength to keep moving forward.

As I reflect back on that moment now, I realize that it wasn't just the fact that my friend had been through something similar that made me feel understood. It was the way that they listened, the way that they held space for me to share my thoughts and feelings without judgment or interruption. It was the way that they validated my experiences, acknowledging the difficulty of what I was going through without trying to fix it or make it go away.

That kind of deep understanding is a rare gift in our fast-paced, constantly-connected world. It's all too easy to get caught up in our own lives, to see the people around us as supporting characters in our own personal dramas. But when we take the time to really listen to someone, to try to understand their perspective and validate their experiences, we create a space for genuine connection and empathy.

In many ways, that moment with my friend was a turning point for me. It helped me realize that I didn't have to go through my struggles alone, that there were people in my life who were willing to listen and support me no matter what. And it also taught me the power of deep understanding, and the impact that it can have on someone who is struggling.

Of course, not everyone is lucky enough to have a friend like mine who can provide that kind of understanding and support. But I believe that we can all strive to be that kind of friend to the people in our lives. We can all practice active listening, holding space for others to share their experiences without judgment or interruption. We can all work to validate the experiences of those around us,

quotessuccesshealinghappinessgoalsadvice
Like

About the Creator

KingPhilo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.