Motivation logo

Mental Health - and Poverty - in Crown Point.

Ignore the Obvious...

By Unlisted&Twisted!Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
2
"Never Forget the Roads You've Walked..."

The plastic handles of the dark garbage bag full of "Hand-Me-Down" "Panic-Clothes" slung taught behind my shoulders. Twisting and digging into the knots that regularly torment my back as my palms grew sweaty from the heat walking to the local Goodwill here in Crown Point, Indiana... one hot summer day... one year ago...

I was heading East on 93rd Avenue, where I so DEVIOUSLY crossed the road... to find some shade. Natural red-head's burn easy, and the logic of SUNSCREEN was lost on me... probably somewhere in the PANIC DONATION BAG!

My southern roots weren't bothered by the sun blazing down on me and the cornfield that had grown taller than me, but there were trees and sidewalks across the street, where I stumbled across paths with an older gentleman. He was waiting for the bus, after his shift at the local Goodwill.

He didn't know I had just dropped off a load of clothes at the local community clothing depository located in the Dollar General parking lot. It's near a 24/7 CVS store, Luke Gas Station, Goodwill Store, and there WAS a Wise Guy's Discount Liquor Store there, but now they're doing what those Republicans do... building, building, building!!!!

I asked the old, black man how we was doing, not really noticing the chapel stoop he was sitting upon. Again, race, age and gender isn't the issue here. People from this part of Crown Point come from all sorts of different backgrounds, and have plenty of houses of worship to choose from. Well, it shouldn't be. But what do I know? I lack insight!

He told me he was doing well! Just waiting for the bus! He didn't know who I was, but we CONNECTED. It was a pleasant exchange without the dog - given the cars and motorcycles and other vehicles on the busy road. He didn't know I had brought with me an older cat here - and am trying to feed her, a dog, myself and an older sibling who served. He didn't know that I was simply trying to be mindful of my neighbors.

Some people don't know that Toxoplasmosis is in infection caused by a parasite commonly found in cat feces (Toxoplasma gondii). [CDC.gov]. [Google.com]. It CAN be spread to pregnant women and immunocompromised individuals. [CDC.gov]. [Me.]. It is commonly found in cat feces. [CDC.gov.]. [Google.com.]. [Microbiology 101.]. [Me.].

My bark is worse than my bite. Way worse...

Thankfully, I'm pretty gentle, like my old cat and battle buddy, Nitty. I've been blessed enough to donate a little bit of my goodies all around Crown Point, Indiana - a Lake County Region - as well as back home - to where I was born, in Illinois. The Heights. I've learned a thing or two along the way. I give it back to them with some of that old-school meets new-school, meets STUPID, LOUD GIRL Chicago South-Side Style...

The last time I drove through the Goodwill donation drop off center, I was told they needed food. "Damn," I thought. "I already donated a bunch of clothing in a panic - won't do that again...". What can I do now, to give my older brother some respite and space on our shared schedule? What can I do for the world???

GET A JOB!!! With WHAT WORK VEHICLE?!?!?

I'm not trying to be the leader of anyone or anything. I'm just a simple girl, trying to get by, with an old cat, who HAS been blessed to see A LOT of GOOD in this world - and gutted it out through the BAD with the help of friends, family and the community. Nitty's NOT the best traveling kitty - but she's getting much better. It IS getting hotter outside. But I made it to the local veterinarian, again, with the help of friends, family, and the community.

She got a fantastic exam by a young veterinarian and wonderful team there! I was grateful for the referral from the local pet supplies plus franchise...

Do you know what the best news is? Nitty's younger, Arubian canine sister, Roxy, is doing well, too! She got her rabies vaccination and home-schooled baths every single day! Nitty gets her standard exams! And my older sibling - who DOES have a summer cold - tested negative for COVID-19! We both got our vaccines here - and if I tested negative by now, I'm pretty sure I would've known! (No, I don't have sniffles. Just coughs. I vape. I smoke. I support Breast Cancer research. I love you!!!)

People are welcome to take my temperature as much as they want! the time - I have no symptoms of COVID-19! So with that being said, I think I'll go wipe down my kitchen, and take the dog for a walk. I DO got church service today, early. I've been trying to work on my piano, let my older sibling rest, and manage a household.

Looking forward to a REAL JOB - wherever THAT may be...

goals
2

About the Creator

Unlisted&Twisted!

Welcome Readers! Thank you for checking in! I am a young, mentally ill young woman with a passion for mental health awareness, music, and writing! I hope my stories inspire you. Follow me here or on Instagram @unlistedandtwistedblog

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.