Motivation logo

Beaches

There ARE beaches in Northwest Indiana...

By Unlisted&Twisted!Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
"I've got 99 problems, but a BEACH ain't one!" Jay-Z (and ME!).

There ARE beaches in Northwest Indiana. Lake Michigan is the ocean of the Midwest. It climbs upward north, along the eastern border of Wisconsin, where it then reaches around it's namesake state, Michigan, and feeds into Lake Huron, like a glove, on it's eastern border. It then crawls further north, narrowly crossing the our norther neighbor's border by streaming into, and along with, Lake Huron, at Sault Ste. Marie, Canada. It also dips down south, along the eastern border of northern Illinois, highlighting the best of the "City of Big Shoulders", Chicago. A tiny portion dips eastward into Northwest Indiana, as well. There's even a town named, "Michigan City" in Indiana. [Google Maps].

No matter what state you happen to be in, be it mentally or regionally, there ARE "beaches" everywhere. As I continue my series about my journey crossing the border, from Illinois to Indiana, I've learned that life, truly is, like a beach. The tides come and go. Sometimes they're rough, like BEACHES. I used to scream and wail like a child about these "BEACHES". "What's wrong with these BEACHES!" I would cry, pounding my head against my desk, or bed - bed was a better option - thinking, cursing, "WHAT'S WRONG WITH THESE BEACHES!?!". Don't get me wrong, some people are brave, talented, and skilled enough to actually SURF the waves upon the beaches of Lake Michigan - on it's coldest days! I'm not one of those individuals...

It was likely my paranoia, low self-esteem, and total disbelief that caused me to curse and act like a child (I am an Aries. A fire sign. The first sign of the Zodiac. The "child" of the Zodiac. But don't forget, I'm half Pisces, too. Barely. So I DO grasp the concept of the oceans better than one would assume...) That's all according to the many astrology and numerology books I read long ago, in high school. I've retained it, however. As I examine what is dangerous, and what is not, like a child. I notice things that cross over into the mental health realm - much like a wise Pisces. But do remember, the Zodiac is in a CIRCLE. I'm a LEADERSHIP sign - like Lady Gaga. Pieces might be the last of all 12 signs, but they're supposed to follow ME! That being said, they're a communication sign, which is essential for leadership...

When it comes to beaches, and BEACHES, in Chicago, Indiana (and everywhere else in between) you've got to remember - women are like the Greatest Lake in the Midwest. Sometimes our tides are calm. Sometimes we rage. Some brave men AND women can surf those tides. Others, like myself, can barely ride a bike, on the terrain, in a safe, small town in Illinois, looking for their lover in a state of oblivion. I got so many bruises on my body from THAT particular excursion, I've let it go, like the tides that recede. Other times, my tides rage forward, FURIOUS at what that particular "lover" DID TO ME. But that's in the past. I'm looking forward to the beaches, with calm tides in Indiana. (They are there, but you have to be, "booted and suited" for the beach.)

If you're crossing over into Indiana, from Illinois, leave the "hood", or your past, behind your ass. This isn't easy for me. I can't cook, and have no real desire, or much time, to learn to do anything besides microwave Chef-Boy-R-Dee, or eat raw turkey and slices of cheese from my local grocery store. My mother died when I was 24. The day before my father's birthday, which happens to be today. So, I adapted to those eating patterns - microwaves, breakfast bars, and eating out, with my dad, when we worked together in the family business...

People in Indiana focus on LOYALTY. However, they are also INDEPENDENT minded. No one here wants to bother anybody else. And that's how it's supposed to be. You never know what's going on behind closed doors, until you knock on them and ASK. Ask, and ye shall receive, says the Bible. In reality, you can do this, as I did, but don't EXPECT warmness. Like Twenty-One Pilots once sang in their song, "Heathens", people on THIS side of the border sniff you out just like back at your "hood". They sniff you out, and ask who you know (subtly). They don't know you have "trust issues" and they don't really care. Some do, though. You're best bet to socially integrate, as a "foreigner" is to be an AMBASSADOR. Be a LEADER. Be the FIRST to introduce your yourself into your new "hood". But learn the "rules" first.

The only way to do that is to, literally, knock on their doors, and learn who your neighbors are. Befriend them, regardless of where you are or what your circumstances are. Nobody becomes an EFFECTIVE leader without having a good TEAM on your side. I'm dreaming of building an amazing team of my own, and being that leader.

Guess the cat's in the cradle, 4 real ;)

goals
Like

About the Creator

Unlisted&Twisted!

Welcome Readers! Thank you for checking in! I am a young, mentally ill young woman with a passion for mental health awareness, music, and writing! I hope my stories inspire you. Follow me here or on Instagram @unlistedandtwistedblog

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.