Motivation logo

ME

me

By Julian TomlinsonPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
A Photo of Me

THE NAME IS JOULES.

As an artist of many trades, I sign-off with Killo-Joules.

KJS means Killo-Joules-Style.

This has gone through many iterations... Joules has always remained in one form or another, Jools, Jewels, Julos, Jules... (etc). Killo meaning Friend or Amigo... I often get ask whether its because I'm dyslexic... and that's partially true. To be familiar and connect with everyone and find common ground is essential to me.

Kilo Joules, of course, means 1000 Units of Energy, and as a mechanical engineering student, That is quite a funny introduction. But it was actually a nudge towards a hero of mine Hudert Wasser, 100 Waters, an artist and an architect. Killo Joules was not cool enough for a 14yr old boy and so Killer or Kira has been used. I have forever remained with the initials KJ hence KJ Styles, it comes from my full name Oliver Julian Kenneth Tomlinson (OJKT).

OJ would annoy me... it was my nickname for a short while at primary school, I hate the fact my mother had Oliver in my already lengthy and unique name. I'd change it by depol... but that would cause more bother than worth.

I couldn't use JK. as there are many famous people that already use this. and KJ has a ring to it.

Now... cool names are not thought up by one's self... you have to earn them or be given them... am I right?

The Creeping Crew and its logo are not well known. Unless your an avid abandoned building explorer or adrenaline drunk. The style of street art is not in your face or offensive but more like Banksy or Mr. Brainwash, and this is where I gained respect for photography and the creative industry.

My older sister is an actor, and the wisest thing she ever told me was:

'movies art and theatre that makes you feel are no waste of time, and take you to a place where you can experience more in a moment than others have lived in a lifetime'.

Hundert Wasser: "you can only begin to make your own style when you have truly mastered everyone else's".

Friedensreich Hundertwasser - Wikipedia

Leonardo Da Vinci: "Wisdom is the daughter of experience". and who more versatile and well-lived than this man? not even Tesla or Musk! He mastered many subjects, which aptly put...

What Made Leonardo da Vinci a Genius?

"Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world".

~Nelson Mandela~

10 things you didn't know about Nelson Mandela - ONE

I'm not ready to be a teacher, but I will give back the time used to educate me, by artists, school staff, mobile phone repairers, bin men, bouncers, parents, those in absence, friends and so many more.

Call me an expert on nothing but a master of all, as long as you learn a few tricks of all trades you can live a happy, fulfilling life. A modern man, a gentleman, a feminist, a nomad, a homeless on wheels...

I DONT KNOW WHAT I WILL BE REMEMBERED FOR

As long as you bring happiness to one person life is worth living

I KNOW I'M LOVED, I WILL BE REMEMBERED.

AND

if am anything like my hero's I would be overjoyed

Killo Joules SSSSSingning off...

quotes
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.