Motivation logo

Luck And Opportunities

Opportunities Don't Just Happen, You Create Them

By Bright OkeyePublished about a year ago 3 min read
3
Luck And Opportunities
Photo by Paul Skorupskas on Unsplash

As a kid, I wished a lot and when these wishes did not magically get granted I would get furious at everything, throw tantrums and get depressed. As I grew into teenagerhood, upon reflecting on my actions I would laugh at my childhood self. The memories however did not go away, rather they got even sharper and clearer.

My early and mid 20s were tumultuous and chaotic, finding myself was hard as I tried to fit in with the narrative of others. In all these I still had those childhood memories of things I wished for. Life was losing its flavor, my view of the world was bland and colorless.

I was at a crucial point in my life and began to search for answers. I realized that I was still holding onto the past. My wishes had turned into abject regrets, I was clinging to denied wishes and hoping for a magic to happen. This made me think back to my wishes, only then did it dawn on me that they were things that could be achieved easily with effort and determination.

"I'd rather regret the things I've done than regret the things I haven't done."

Lucille Ball

I began making a list of all the things I longed for as a boy. Actualizing each item on my list brought joy like I had never felt, I gained great confidence and my personality greatly improved positively.

What Regret Does?

Regret can be said to be insight into what one did or has done it is a self-focused negative emotion that leeches the mind when it is at a vulnerable state of doubt. When properly fueled, regret can turn toxic and can lead to depression.

Wikipedia views this powerful emotion as wishing one had made a different decision in the past, because the consequences of the decision were unfavorable. A person dealing with regret is plagued with constant scenes and flashbacks of what should have been done properly and one very common phrase; had I known.

Growing up in a though environment where almost everyone had too much problems to spare their sympathies, regrets was not an option, I had to do something about my past

Pitfalls And Determination

By Zoltan Tasi on Unsplash

I previously wrote an article on grit and how negativity can come at certain points in our individual lives. One of the pitfalls I encountered in my life's journey overly depending on luck.

Luck as a phenomenon or belief is a tool, an like all tools, can only be utilized when properly handled. Handling luck requires hard work

Remember that sometimes not getting what you want is a wonderful stroke of luck.

- Dalai Lama

Proper utilization of luck requires proper utilization of opportunities. It was once believed that opportunity knocks but once , now we know better that, opportunity comes all the time wit the all-important preparedness. If the chance comes, preparedness is the right equipment to take advantage of it.

The video below was one that helped me through a particular pitfall, it inspired me to write this article;

https://youtube.com/shorts/kd2B6r6WKtE?feature=share

Be Careful What You Wish For

One lesson I learned from life is to be careful of what we wish for. it is important that we juxtapose our plans with precision, and put in our best while making wishes

The infamous garbage collector Michael Carroll is a case example of an improper use of luck. His life long wish came to pass but he lacked proper planning on what came after.

By Almos Bechtold on Unsplash

Sometimes life can get naughty by giving us more than we could ask for or even think, this can be overwhelming. Handling these rare situations can be more difficult than it looks from an outsider's perspective.

Conclusively, luck is the dream of everyone, some can get it on a platter, some may never get it, while some gets it and squander it all, but a select few gets it and utilize it properly. Luck without proper usage is disastrous.

Check out this beautiful Poem;

https://vocal.media/poets/comfort-in-myself?modal=open

advicegoalshealingself help
3

About the Creator

Bright Okeye

An introspective thinker delving into the ever-expanding space of articles to quell his insatiable appetite for insight

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Amy Hallabout a year ago

    I can relate to this in more ways than one great job 👏

  • JoAnn Ryanabout a year ago

    You are so right. Some people have all the luck but never utilize it correctly. Mostly though, a lot of us just seem to have to work hard instead of rely on luck. Sad but true!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.