Motivation logo

Looking Forward to Better Days

Post-isolation life will not be pre-isolation life

By Dios MacPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

How many days has it been?

Like really.

Who knows how many days we have been awkwardly walking around the house? How many days we've binge watched? How many days we've spent creatively finessing the snacks in our house?

No matter what your quarantine has consisted of, one thing is for certain, the idea of "society" seems to be extremely missed.

I've been utilizing this time to visualize. Visualizing all the things I desired in my life and concentrating on them. This time to ourselves, or our close loved ones allows us to hear our own thoughts for a moment. It encourages us to find some stillness and connect to ourselves.

I am really learning to appreciate that.

After staying still for 50+ days, I began to realize how much I actually do. Actually staying still long enough to see how much moving and pursuing I was doing. I am an athlete, a businessman, a model, an actor, and an artist. All of which I looked to improve or excell in some way everday. It almost feels like my desires have been put on hold. I've been training for almost a year for a professional basketball job that became unavailable once quarantine started.

When you take away someones livelihood, what is life?

The stillness makes me stir crazy at times. I want to start that job. I want to continue to lead this life I love. I've sacrificed a lot to get where I was. Isolation has shown me that I have no time to waste on things that don't or didn't bring me happiness. Sometimes the obstacles we receive in our lives are simply stepping stones to help us see our vision clearer.

Post-isolation means being able to connect with others again. Being able to collaborate with friends. Being able to fraternize. To socialize. The experience of living is some what of a solo mission. You enter and exit alone. I feel like life is all about finding people important enough to you to make your solo mission a cooperative. It's about connecting as much as possible to other people sharing this experience. Isn't it beautiful that after all this, we can never deny that we have something in common? People are going to be connecting like never before.

Post-isolation means more to me than making money again, or realizing my dreams. It feels like this is a clean slate to build a larger family upon. I can gather all my desires together in my mind, and come to realize that every one of my desires has something to do with the ability to connect to more people. To experience more love. I feel like this is true for all of us. My wife challenged my thinking recently, telling me to dig deeper into my motivation for the things I do. Once I reached a level in which I felt I found the reason why, I challenged that reason further to see what came up. After breaking down reasons upon reasons, I always came back to love. We always come back to connecting and maximizing this experience through others.

The human experience is meant to be an extremely social one. Our desires, and pursuits sometimes cloud our understanding and make us feel like our only responsibility is in getting something. The reality is, once you attain that something, you realize that the most valuable things you gained were the connections and the memories shared of pursuit. After isolation, I want to get creative with the ways I involve others in my life and my pursuit of happiness. I want to share myself so others feel comfortable sharing themselves. I want to expand my love and my understanding of love as far as it can go. I am going to work with as many creatives as possible to maximize my creativity. I am going to work with as many professionals as possible to connect with more like minded individuals.

My visions and dreams of myself felt like I saw something no one else did. The beauty of connectivity is inviting people to your visions. Helping them see what you see. I have my own perspective of this thing I am creating. Once I have others involved, there are more viewers of my vision. More perspectives. One person that sees something that others don't may seem crazy, until others start seeing it too. I want to share my vision of living a life I love because all those involved will learn it is possible.

Love always.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Dios Mac

I am an artist of many expressions. I offer my understanding of myself, the world, and the human experience in my work. I hope what ever I express in my work finds you in the best of spirits and helps you along your journey. Love always.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.