Motivation logo

Live up to your youth and live up to your ideals

Dare to try what you want to do

By Richard ZhongPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Setting goals is often like this. Some things may not be enough and cannot be accomplished, but this does not mean that all pursuits must be given up.

A person has an ideal, and he must also have the perseverance and perseverance to realize the ideal, so that he can be invincible. Let's look at the perseverance of American explorer John Goddard, who set 127 goals in his lifetime and has now achieved 106 of them.

Forty-four years ago, John Goddard made a list of all the things he wanted to do in his life. At the time he was just an unknown kid in a suburb of Los Angeles. He named the table "A Lifetime Volunteer". The list reads: "Expedition to the Nile, Amazon, and Congo Rivers; Ascent of Everest (Mount Everest), Kilimanjaro, and Mount Matterhorn; read Shakespeare, Plato, and Aristotle write a piece of music; write a book; visit every country in the world; get married and have children; visit the moon, etc.” Each item is numbered, with a total of 127 goals.

He explained: “I wrote that list because at 15 I realized that I had no experience. I was immature at the time, but I had the same potential as everyone else, and I really wanted to make a difference. This is my career. I'm very interested in everything—travel, medicine, music, literature... I want to do it all, and I want to encourage others. So I made that big blueprint, and with a goal in mind, I It will feel like there is something to do every moment. I also know that people around me tend to stick to the rules, they never take risks, they never dare to challenge themselves in any one area. I am determined not to go that way.”

Goddard escaped death eighteen times in his quest to achieve his goals. He recalled: “These experiences taught me to appreciate life a hundredfold, and I wanted to try whatever I could. People often lived their whole lives without ever showing great courage, strength and endurance, but I found that when you

By the time you are about to die anyway, you will suddenly have amazing power and control, and you never dreamed that you would have such a huge power in your body in the past. When you have experienced this, you will feel that your soul has been elevated to another realm. "

He pointed out that almost everyone has their own goals and dreams, but not everyone will work hard to achieve them. Goddard's attitude toward pursuing his dreams is invaluable. He once said: "The 'Aspiration of a Lifetime' was made by me at a very young age, and it reflects the aspirations of a teenager, of course there are

Things I don't want to do anymore, like climbing Mount Everest. Setting goals is often like this. Some things may not be enough and cannot be accomplished, but this does not mean that all pursuits must be given up. "

It's good to take a fresh look at your life and ask yourself the following question.

"If I only have one more year to live, what am I going to do?"

If you ask a random person: What do you want to do? He will definitely answer a lot of things he wants to do. Ask him again why he didn't do it. He would list a whole bunch of reasons not to do it, or not have the time, even if he had nothing to do all day. It is not difficult for people to have dreams, but the difficulty is to have the courage to realize them. Dreams are not out of reach, but people are intimidated by the difficulties they have created before they act.

success
1

About the Creator

Richard Zhong

No superior wisdom, no heart of truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.