Motivation logo

Life in this Pandemic

By Lisa Stephens

By Lisa StephensPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1
Laxgalts’ap BC

My name is Lisa Stephens and I’m 18 years old. To be honest I don’t know what I’m doing, my grandmother told me about this and told me I should enter, and I could write on and on about this pandemic or I can tell stories of what happened to me in this pandemic but I’m not gonna do that I’m going to try something different. I’m going to point out a few major points during this pandemic.

One I think everyone felt this way I think people felt confused and scared out of their minds for their kids, for their elders, and just scared in general. There are a lot of people like me that are at risk. I had heart surgery recently I’m high at risk for this pandemic, kids are at high at risk, elders are high at risk. I know all of this is scary and it still is scary but what you have to see is that our world is absolutely beautiful but I think it’s beautiful because there’s no one outside anymore to dump trash everywhere. Maybe this is why it’s happening because we’re not taking care of our world and God doesn’t want our world to be messy he didn’t create it messy he created it beautiful and full of life and I think as soon as he sees that the world can stay this way even after this pandemic nothing like this will happen again. I don’t believe in God that much and I know a lot of you don’t either but what if there is a God out there, what if he’s looking down and he doesn’t like what he seen so he did something to scare us to stay inside. I’ve seen so many yards being clean during this pandemic and all the yards that I’ve seen look absolutely amazing the streets are clean but I don’t think we need prizes to keep our yards this clean. We have an amazing beautiful world and we need to keep it clean.

Two I’m 18 and I’m not getting a proper graduation ceremony a lot of us aren’t getting a proper graduation ceremony and I don’t want to hear anyone say “oh I understand” you don’t understand this is supposed to be the biggest day of our lives! We’ve worked our asses off for this, we’ve worked long hours for this, we worked till we cried, we worked till we had anxiety attacks, we worked till we couldn’t anymore. I know every other graduate before us has done this but they had a proper ceremony they had a party they had a goodbye party for when they left to go start their own lives we don’t get that we get to people in our gym to walk us down that little pass to get our diplomas plus one more person to put a ceremonial blanket over us...I have a huge family and I know for a fact that my class has a bunch of people in their family, a bunch of people that have been there for us since day one, since we were born, since before we were even born, they were there for us and they cared for us, they were there to help us along our journey but out of all of those people we only get to pick three people to witness us getting our diplomas. We don’t get to celebrate with her friends or family it’s hard, it’s really hard but we just have to try to look at the positives like at least our teachers are actually doing this for us, our teachers are going above and beyond just so we could have an actual ceremony and their doing it to make us happy and that makes me so happy! It’s amazing that they’re doing this for us we put them through so much and they’re still doing this for us but that’s only because we are their normal and they are our normal so I’m so glad they also get to witness this day with me. With this pandemic you just have to try look at the positives, if you keep looking at the negatives your days just gonna turn out negative however long you look at everything negative that’s how long your days will be that’s how long your year will be and it will all be negative, you can’t just think of everything as a negative, you just have to think positive, if you think positive and you’re nice to everyone good things will happen no matter what even during this pandemic you can still get something positive from it.

Which brings me to my third and last point. This pandemic isn’t bad I thought it was I really did, I thought it was the worst thing that could ever happen to me, I thought it was the worst thing that could happen to anyone. But now that I think of it it’s the best thing that could happen to any of us, if you haven’t noticed you’ve been spending more time with your spouse, more time with your family, you might have been working long hours and you’re probably still working and working long hours but you’re doing it in the comfort of your home, you’re doing it with your family, you’re going through this together and you’re helping each other, you’re trying to make each other happy and you get to see how beautiful and amazing your family is, you can see how beautiful and amazing your spouses is and I think that’s the most amazing thing that you could ever ask for in life. This pandemic is opening a window for us, it’s helping us get together and work out our differences with one another. This pandemic is both amazing and scary but like I said be nice to anyone and everyone and good things will come to you. You just need to keep thinking positive and try your best to make this pandemic something better then what it is now. I know this isn’t a story or anything but I just wanted to share how I feel during this pandemic.

self help
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.