Motivation logo

Letting Go of the Attachments That Keep You Unhappy

"Releasing gives us freedom and liberty the only state of happiness." ~ Thich Nhat Hanh

By Sulav kandelPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Letting Go of the Attachments That Keep You Unhappy
Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

My father died when I was 15, so I soon learned that life is very short. At the time, the only explanation I had for her death was that my life needed to say something.

I promised to do something great for myself.

I went to college determined to become a police officer. I had an unexplained feeling of gut coming in, something telling me it was wrong, but I just thought it was because I was deaf, and I wouldn’t let that stop me.

I graduated from Applied Arts and Science. To this day, I am not sure how I got off that road.

I know it was because of confusion and confidence. I had to be an official though; I had to do something with my life. I spent more than a year unemployed, hating myself even more with each failed conversation, each refusing again.

In my spare time, without moping, I wrote. Growing up I always had a small dream of being a writer, but I always pulled it off, for so many reasons to write.

One day, after failing a two-minute police game, I drove home and was beaten.

I did not want to become a police officer. I wanted to be a writer.

What was I doing?

I pretended to be mentally ill. I was devastated, clinging to the thought that I should be great, to a place where no hard-hearted person ever went, that I had failed to truly live.

How can I remember all the things around me that I enjoyed, that made me happy and at peace?

I had an amazing husband who always pressured me to write. I had great friends who loved me for who I was, not for who I was. I had a family that supported me no matter what.

I lived in Colorado with beautiful mountains and beautiful scenery.

I failed to see what I had really learned about my father's death: life was too short. Accept the times.

How often do we overlook this golden stream to the well? The thing about dreams and goals is that they have to change with us. We cannot expect things in life. We should enjoy the ride, learn from our adventures, and take each day as it comes.

Quitting a dream, especially one that I had held since childhood, was the hardest thing for me to do. But when I did, I never felt so comfortable. Everything in my life was planned.

Attachment makes us suffer; it forces us to doubt and grieve. We were imprisoned and imprisoned in our mental prison.

When you let go, you are free. It's very liberating. It starts to get a little easier, day by day, to give up other things. It's not easy, though. Old habits tend to push us back, but once we learn to understand this, we can keep going up.

How can you release it? Here is what I learned that helped me.

1. Don't expect things in life.

This applies to everything. When you are beautiful to someone, you expect them to be beautiful again. If you do good to someone, you expect him to give something back to you. If you have a dream, you expect it to happen or you are a failure.

I was expecting to be a cop. I eventually became a writer and worked in a bookstore. And I'm very happy where I left off. You cannot force life to happen. Letting go helps you accept life and the way you walk, not the way you expect it to be. And sometimes you end up where you should be.

2. Be realistic.

Also, apply this to every aspect of your life. Accept people for who they are and how they behave. Accept who you are. Accept what the world is like. Once you've accepted the material, you can look deeper and see what it really is.

3. Meditate or sit quietly.

Sometimes sitting quietly can help us look inside ourselves and see what we really want. If I had done this long ago, I would have realized that being a policeman was not what I really wanted.

If you meditate or just dwell on your thoughts, you will find that the answer you seek will come to you. and it will always be the unexpected.

4. Be aware of your emotions.

If you find yourself stuck with a particular emotion or idea, know the feelings and the reasons for it. What feeling are locked in your attachment?

For example, my desire to be an official was due to an old childhood feeling of wanting to prove to everyone that I could do something most people know.

5. Forgive.

This is one of the most difficult things. We need to look inside ourselves and forgive ourselves for everything. We must recognize that we are human, and no human is perfect. We all make mistakes, and it is okay for us to make mistakes.

Forgive yourself for everything. Once you've done that, you can allow the attachment to stay the same, whether it's anger, self-deception, or fear.

Only until we release when we are truly free. And only then can we accept the present and life itself

advice
Like

About the Creator

Sulav kandel

Im a contain writter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.