Motivation logo

Don’t Let the Outside World Control Your Happiness

At a deeper level you are already perfect. When you see that, there is the power of play, and the joy behind what you are doing. ”~ Eckhart Tolle

By Sulav kandelPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Don’t Let the Outside World Control Your Happiness
Photo by Catalin Pop on Unsplash

We have a rare need or a situation to not take responsibility for our happiness. We expect it to come from an external source.

It may be, but it is passing. True happiness must come from within.

True happiness comes from connecting with our true personality.

Years ago my family and I drove our dog to a boarding school, and the trainer told us, if we had more than one dog, that we should never let them share in the crate. Yes, they would be great friends, even separation. Then one of them would die and the other would be completely heartbroken.

Consider putting all your happiness into someone else. This could be a friend or soul mate. Share your dreams, trust each other in friendships and plans for the future. Then came the tragedy, a kind of division.

It's normal to feel deep emotional pain and grief when someone you love dies - but how can you cope with the loss if all your happiness is in that one person?

The same can be said of the material world. We find it easier to find the treasure, the big house, the new car, or the job we think we are looking for.

I have spent most of my life so far in the shadow of a passing joy. It followed me everywhere.

It all started when I was a child. I wanted to be accepted. I did ridiculous things in my hair, and I lost my virginity at a very young age. I thought these things would bring me a sense of accomplishment, but I have never felt truly happy.

After that my little old man appeared still wanting "when." When I get to do this… when I go here… when I do that… then I will finally be happy.

I spent my days waiting for various things to happen, so that I too could bring the happiness I had longed for.

I married young. I moved to a city that did not belong to me. I found a cohesive job that made me feel established, following the community's definition of success.

With two young children, I moved into a more expensive apartment that turned out to be a mold for a well-to-do young man. And - to my surprise - I bought a small van. I was a mother, after all. Wasn't that my way to happiness?

With all these false beliefs of happiness under my belt, the waves of dissatisfaction still threaten to sink me. I kept stepping on the water without moving.

I saw in time the truth behind my happiness, and it did not lie in things or in people or in the definitions of society. I always had the ability to feel happy; I just didn’t realize it.

I saw it when I was able to accept, completely, who I am.

I realized that I did not need to plan who I was. I was able to look at myself in the mirror and see perfection in all my imperfections. I was able to go to a party and straighten myself sitting quietly in the corner. I have learned not to be anxious or worried about what others think. I was ready to be just me.

I used to find myself sitting quietly, getting everything in. These were moments of remembrance that allowed me to know everything around me. And you know what? It was full.

The world was full of the riches of life - nature, people, laughter, smiles, breath, sound and breathing. I began to see my breathing and I breathed a little and enjoyed everything that was happening in my life. Seeing that came with a flood of tears, joy and great communication ... with me.

We believe in happiness that does not exist. We want it in many ways, we rarely find it the way we want it.

Happiness sometimes comes from things. "If I get this car, or these shoes, or this job, man, I'll be happy." And you do, you get a position and you drive to your new job in your new car and put on your shiny new shoes.

The world oh is perfect. It could not have been better. When the company you work for has collapsed, you no longer have the money to buy your car, now you have no place to put your shoes on.

Are you still happy? Not if you put all your joy into those things that are passing away.

But suppose you have found true happiness from the depths of your soul and you feel happy with yourself. Then you get your dream job. Would you be happier?

You may feel more satisfied but not so happy, because your inner happiness is already limitless. If you lose your job, will your happiness be diminished? No. You may feel frustrated but you would not lose your joy because it was already limitless.

Your happiness cannot come from the outside world. It has to come from within you.

When you know that happiness is already there for you, the pressure will go away because you will no longer feel dominated by your need for more.

Still, it is important to note that true happiness does not always lead to happiness. Finding true happiness does not mean that you will be jumping on the daisy stage without worldly care.

You will have bad days. You will feel frustrated with normal life sometimes. You can look even further to see what is coming. All of this is fine.

Happiness doesn't have to look like a storybook. It is a joy to see that life has come to a standstill.

You will be truly happy if you allow yourself to be satisfied with the true identity, recognize the vastness of the natural world around you, and know that the people and things in your life are powerless for you. He is the master of your happiness.

You're already done. When you realize this, you will be happy in everything you do.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Sulav kandel

Im a contain writter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.