Motivation logo

Let Them Be Uncomfortable

An Extension on Being Yourself

By Kelsey HeinPublished 6 years ago 3 min read

The less you worry about what other people think of you the better everything will become. Of course, it is natural to be self-conscious during those awkward teen years, but the less you care about what others think about you the happier you will be. Wear what you want, give your opinion, and express yourself however you want! Just be yourself! If everyone on Earth was the same, the world would be a very boring place. It is your job to bring something unique to the world. Just be whatever you want to be. Be smart, be confident, be kind, be sensitive, be a badass. Just be unforgivably yourself because you are an amazing person, and there will never be anyone else who is like you.

While you are being yourself, don't be afraid to try new things. Go on adventures and be spontaneous! I wouldn't have found my passion if I hadn't taken random classes in my first few years of college. Have stories to tell! Try new foods, make new friends, etc. Don't be afraid of trying new things; it could be the best thing you've ever done! An adventure doesn't have to be elaborate. Adventures can be as simple as a trip to Petsmart, a picnic at the park, or a walk around the block. The saying goes "spontaneity is the spice of life" and that is true because adventures and being spontaneous are exciting! They are the memories that last a lifetime.

One of the best things I have ever heard is, "let them be uncomfortable." The person who was said it was regarding labels and how they are meant to define something to make other people comfortable. I think that this statement can be used as a supplement to saying "be yourself." The only person you have to be comfortable with is yourself and if other people are uncomfortable with your choices, let them be uncomfortable.

I was listening to the podcast Adult Sh1t on iTunes and the guest speaker was talking about labels. She was seeing a girl at the time and when she told her friends about it, they told her that she was in a relationship. She knew they were not in a relationship because they had a conversation about it, and decided that they did not need a label to be with each other. She told her friends that the label was not necessary. She said, "The only reason you want a label is to make you more comfortable with me, and I am okay with me."

I live at home with my parents and my very outspoken sister. If something bothers her, she always needs to say something. Every night when I get out of the bath I put on my pj's (sans bra), and I go about my business. One night she looked at me and said, "Are you wearing a bra?" I said no and went back to doing whatever I was doing. Then she said, "Well, you should put one on because that's gross." I replied simply with, "I will not put on a bra to make you more comfortable." She was shocked by what I said and went back to doing whatever she was doing.

I do not want to change myself to make the people around me comfortable. I have been going sans bra with my pajamas for ten years at least, and only since it became more noticeable is it a problem with my sister. I shouldn't have to put on a bra at my house when it's just my family and I at home. Sometimes change is good. Change is progressive. We cannot be the same person we are now in ten years because we will have had different experiences that will inevitably change us. The only things that shouldn't change are the things that shouldn't bother other people.

I guess the moral of the story is don't change to make others comfortable. Let them be uncomfortable with you.

advice

About the Creator

Kelsey Hein

I write about what I feel. Non-fiction and fiction. I try to improve every time I write. I don't care if I make you mad, it's only my opinion. If you don't like it you can read someone else's work.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kelsey HeinWritten by Kelsey Hein

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.