Motivation logo

Learning to Love You

Believing in YOU

By Toni-Marie GallagherPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
Listen to the message from the Universe - -  YOU ARE ENOUGH 

Something I personally struggle with A LOT, this loving yourself thing has never been a strong point of mine growing up.

Instead it was easier to blame myself for everything that went wrong, tell myself it is all I deserved or maybe it was some kind of punishment. I convinced myself that happiness and good luck just weren't meant to be part of my life and I was just going to have to accept that. I mean, why would someone like me be able to have those things? Why would anyone love someone like me? Accept someone like me? Love me for who I was? More importantly, I couldn't change it, could I?

It was a pretty sad existence to be perfectly honest, and I was just trapped in a vicious cycle of bad things happening or not going my way, to blaming myself, convincing myself it was all that I deserved, having a bit of a self destruct mode which then lead to trying to pick myself up again and hope for better next time... but then the same cycle started again. Obviously this did nothing for my self esteem, my self worth, and self love didn't even remotely exist within me.

It gets to a point that you can never imagine anything changing for you, including the way you feel. I didn't really know anything about self love; I think I had been told a few times before that I need to love myself first before anyone else can, but I didn't really take any notice if I am perfectly honest.

It wasn't until I started in network marketing: A huge part of network marketing businesses is the personal development, growing yourself as person and believing in yourself first. It was all so alien to me to begin with and all sounded like a load of nonsense, but all of my uplines within my team went on about how important personal development was if you wanted to make a success of your business, which of course I did. So I looked into a couple of the books that were suggested to start with and I discovered The Law of Attraction.

Once I started, I realised what all the fuss was about!! It all made so much sense... thoughts become things. Negative thoughts only attract more negativity your way, so when I was constantly telling myself that bad luck was all I deserved, that is all I attracted and that's why nothing changed for me! It all starts with you and the messages you are sending out to the universe. It took me a couple off reads to properly get to grips with it all but then I can honestly say personal development slowly started to change my mindset and my life.

I was suddenly training myself to switch my negative thoughts around to more positive thoughts, even if it was only ever so slightly. I was focusing more on the things that I wanted our wishes and hoped for, rather than the things I was afraid of happening. I still struggle with believing good things will come my way or believing in good luck but when I do find myself dwelling I am much better at putting a stop to those thoughts now. I allow myself to dream and I have learnt about the power of believing in yourself, because if you don't, who else will?

Ultimately, we are in charge of our own destiny. If we don't love ourselves first and believe in ourselves first then nobody else is going to. Self confidence doesn't have to be cocky and full of yourself. It is just recognising your own worth, knowing what you deserve and making it happen. No matter how you need to get there, believing and trusting that you truly are worthy, so you'll get there.

We are all individuals, special in our own ways. We all have a past, a history and a story to tell. But what we all do have in common is one life. A life in which we all deserve to live to the fullest, exactly how WE WANT to, not how everyone or anyone else wants us to. So go ahead and do exactly that!

Your happiness is paramount. Be YOU.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.