Motivation logo

Lake Life to Van Life

From a lake house to a trailer, and then to a van –downsizing, at its finest!

By Maeple FourestPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
6
Lake Photo (& edits) by Mae Fourest || Van Photo by Jordan Irving on Unsplash

Why did I go from a beautiful blue house on the lake, to a 26ft camping trailer with no running water? And why did I leave that trailer for a van? I’ve been on quite the journey for the last two and a half years, and its time I start sharing the adventure with you.

It hit me like a bolt of lightning –the desire to move into a van. I had been feeling restless, uncomfortable and out-of-place in the trailer that I called home, but the image of what I was searching for was still blurry. I took some time and retreated to somewhere more familiar –but running back to my Mum’s lake house was not the answer. It allowed me some conveniences that I’d been missing, and a chance to catch my breath, yet I still felt uncomfortable in the core of my being.

Don’t get me wrong… I’m not saying that my problems are location-based, and they’ll magically disappear under a different roof. I will bring many of these difficulties with me, I’m sure; but in a new space, I might be able to look at those nagging feelings, instead of shoving them down for no one to see. I truly believe that we can be at peace and at home almost anywhere, as long as we’re balanced in our minds, bodies and souls –and I hope that van life will help me find that balance.

I have been without-a-house for over two years, so I guess you could say that I’m houseless; but I wouldn’t say I’m homeless. There are so many options available to me, it’s truly overwhelming. But when I was able to quiet the chatter and listen to my own voice, I found the path that I’d been searching for –it hit me like a bolt of lightning!

I've had Doc Brown's voice saying, "a bolt of lightning" since that expression came to me... just so we're clear ;)

I want to live in a van.

I’ve been aware of this possibility for a long time, and I’ve always admired those who renovate vehicles and live in the back! It was never something I thought of for myself, though; probably because I’m not all that excited by travelling. I’d love to see more of the land that I call home, but I spent quite a lot of time in the car as a kid (the longest drive was ~52hours straight; from Windsor, Ontario to St. John’s, Newfoundland, when I was 9). I’d love to go out West, and maybe I will someday soon; but the real reason I want to live in a van is independence.

You may have read my article, Strong, Independent Woman, in which I outlined my desire to live on the land and become self-sufficient. I explained my dream of building a small structure or fixing an old trailer, but it all came down to my desire to live alone and take care of myself. Many of the words within that article still ring true, of course, but the literal vehicle I take down that path is changing.

Camping trailers are often called mobile homes, yet my experience of trailer life has been fairly stationary. I’ve lived in 3 different places, in 5 different positions over the last 26 months, but we’ve been in the exact same spot for almost 2 years now. A fifth wheel trailer requires a pickup truck and special hitch to move it, and the one that brought us to our current spot was sent to the junkyard shortly after. I feel reliant on others to move my home, but even if I had my own truck, I don’t think I’d feel comfortable driving it.

Again, this may come as a surprise for someone moving into a van full-time, but I am relatively new to driving. I’ve been alive for over 24 years, but I’ve only been driving for about 4. In fact, the very first time I ever drove, I flattened a No Parking sign when all four tires jumped the curb –and my Mum laughed her ass off as she reversed the car off the front lawn. I was 16 at the time, so I can assure you that I’ve learned quite a bit since then. But with all that said, you may agree that I shouldn’t be trusted to tow a fifth wheel trailer behind a heavy duty pickup truck.

The trailer I've lived in for 26 months straight, in this location for over 2 years (November, 2020)

Freedom in movement has been my deciding factor: if I am going to live in a small, mobile structure, I have to be able to move it myself.

When I wrote Strong, Independent Woman, I was thoroughly excited by the idea of cultivating my own space on the land; but I have since come to realize that I was ignoring a nagging concern –permanence. I’m not ready to commit to a specific piece of land yet, because my long term dream is still in the works (Talking Trees). And with so many home-bases that have been offered to me, I’d rather choose them all than just one.

The thought of driving my house around is absolutely thrilling! I won’t have to pack a bag to stay with a friend, because I’ll park my house in their yard and sleep in my own bed. And when I get groceries, they’ll go straight from the cart to the cupboard. I have a kitten, as well, only about 10-weeks-old; and I know he’ll enjoy being at home while driving –instead of loading him into the car each time. And I have family that I don't see often due to distance and other opportunities that seem too far from home.

I am a homebody at heart, so bringing my home with me is the greatest solution. And downsizing doesn’t deter me in the slightest –I’m already living with a fraction of what I used to, and I’m willing to reduce that even further. I can’t wear 6 pairs of jeans at one time, so why own so many?

I’m already accustomed to a minimalist life –a life without running water, in fact. So I am exhilarated by the opportunity to have my own little kitchen, next to my own bed, in my own house, which doubles as my car!

happiness
6

About the Creator

Maeple Fourest

Hey, I'm Mae.

My writing takes on many forms, and -just like me- it cannot be defined under a single label.

I am currently preparing for Van Life, and getting to know myself before the adventures begin!

Subscribe, Stay Tuned & ENJOY!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.