Motivation logo

It's Ok. It's a Sunday.

An affirmation to slow down.

By Jenna TiddPublished 9 months ago 2 min read
Like
Photo by Svitlana on Unsplash

It was one of those fall days where the world looked beautiful with sunshine turning trees into autumn masterpieces. Colors glowed, birds sang, and I happily drove to the local coffee shop to get some work done.

Have you ever felt so good, you feel like sharing the goodness with whoever’s around?

It may only last for a few moments, but during that time, you feel benevolent toward the world. That’s where I was at as I arrived at my favorite hangout and walked through the door.

An older lady ahead of me finished paying for her order and turned to leave. I stepped up to the counter, ready to order my usual beverage, and looked down to see a key fob sitting in front of me.

Photo by Syed Hussaini on Unsplash

“Mam?” I called after her. The lady turned around, and I held up the keys. “Are these yours?”

“Oh! Yes, thank you,” she said gratefully.

“You’re welcome, my pleasure,” I replied.

I turned back to the patient cashier and told him, “That really could’ve gone either way. The last time someone left their keys next to me, I put them in my pocket and didn’t even realize they weren’t mine until I was in the next state over.”

He looked at me as if wondering whether I was serious and then started laughing. “What can I get you,” he asked.

“A hot tea, please.”

After paying, I moved to the coffee section to fix my usual — Orange Ginger Mint tea. I loved its sweet, spicy flavor and just the anticipation of it made me feel even happier. A cheerful buzz of voices and activity swirled around me, along with all the delightful smells of coffee, bread, and pastries.

A lady was already there fixing her coffee, and I had to wait a minute before getting a lid for my cup. She looked up, saw me waiting, and hurriedly apologized, “I’m so sorry.”

In my kind-hearted state, I didn’t want to rush, nor did I want her to rush or feel rushed. I smiled and said, “It’s a Sunday.” I wanted her to know I wasn’t in a hurry, and she didn’t have to hurry either. I wanted us both to enjoy getting our drinks.

The lady’s whole face changed and relaxed into a happy smile. “What a wonderful saying,” she commented as she walked away.

And it is — because of the meaning behind it.

It’s a simple way to say it’s ok to slow down. It’s ok to take in the moment and not feel like you have to race through it to get to the next one. It’s ok to relax and enjoy small pleasures and simple activities.

Drink your tea slowly and reverently, as if it is the axis on which the earth revolves — slowly, evenly, without rushing toward the future.”

– Thich Nhat Hanh

So, to sum up my day: I didn’t swipe anyone’s car keys. I didn’t shove aside the woman standing between me and my tea. And I did get some work done. 😉

It was a good Sunday.

Photo by Matt on Unsplash

(This article was originally published on Medium.)

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Jenna Tidd

Health/wellness content writer and copyeditor with 10 years of healthcare experience and a lifelong interest in fitness, natural remedies, and the mind-body connection. Get professional content with a personal touch. [email protected].

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.