Motivation logo

It's Not Easy

And maybe that's what draws me to it

By Connor WarmanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

It's a struggle. It's a grind. And that's just everything man, life. I'm not trying to complain or make it seem like I've got it hard(I don't) I'm just acknowledging out loud that life is hard. It can be overwhelming.

Trying to build a brand, become a better CrossFit Coach, publish my first book all while trying to make a decent income is hard. Especially when there are very few people who actually believe in you and the vision that you have. It's hard to see now and it will continue to be hard to see for awhile going forward. But I accept that. And, in a lot of ways, I like that.

I enjoy the grind. The idea of putting in long days and what seems like endless work because at the end of the day I'm building something that I know I'm proud of. I'm proud of it already and I've hardly even gotten started. The best is truly yet to come, but still, I have to slow myself down and appreciate all that I've been able to do so far. I may not make a killer living or make the most out of my peers but at the end of the day, I'm happy. I know that one day I'll look back on these days as the good ole days. The grinding days. The sleepless nights, the late night and early morning brainstorm sessions, the days of me discovering exactly who I am through mental and physical struggles. But at the same time, these things never stop. I know people who have achieved what society would consider "success" and they still do these types of things probably more often than they ever have. Why? Because we're always learning and we're always growing.

Why would I wait until I've achieved "success" to start enjoying life and pursuing what I love? Or telling people that I'm pursuing what I love? Why wouldn't I acknowledge that these days are going to be hard. Yes, they are going to challenge my patience and my drive and desire to do what I say I want to do. Some days are going to be awesome and I'm going to hit for the cycle. Other days I'm going to question why I'm even doing any of this in the first place and why I didn't just take a normal 9-5 job like I was supposed to. At times, this path can be lonely. But I accept that. In a weird way, I'm drawn to that. I'm drawn to this lifestyle. I enjoy a good chase and many times I enjoy the actual chase more than the end result. I think that's a big reason why I feel perfectly fine with where I'm at right now at this moment.

I'm learning to wear this stage of life that I'm in like a badge of honor. To be proud of what I'm building and where I'm going. I know that this is merely the beginning and that I'm on the path to bigger and better things no matter what other people say about me. And it's never been about that it can't be about that because I don't have time for that. Some people are going to love you and some people are going to hate you but at the end of the day it comes down to what you think about yourself. Are you happy? Are you really happy? Most people won't be honest when answering that question. If you can't even be honest with yourself how do you ever expect yourself to be happy?

The only thing that can truly make you happy is you. No matter what stage of life you're in embrace it. Own it. But at the same time don't get comfortable there. Grow, learn, put yourself out there, and most importantly do what you love, and don't ever let anyone tell you anything differently.

Get After It.

goals
1

About the Creator

Connor Warman

A CrossFit Coach and Podcaster's perspective on life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.