Motivation logo

What's on the Other Side of This?

We all know what comes with quitting

By Connor WarmanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

We all know what happens when we quit. We fall short, we lose, we fail. The answer is right there in front of us when we quit. We know exactly what's going to happen. Today, I want to talk about what happens when we decide to keep going. When we decide to push through our present struggles and see the bigger picture.

The honest answer is I don't know. Nobody knows. Yet, that unknown should excite us, not scare us! Sure there's no guarantee that continuing will get you exactly where you want to go but is that really ever the point? Yeah, if we set a goal we want to achieve it but is the journey and how we get there not just as, if not more, important?

Let's break it down. Say I have a goal to run a 100-mile race. How much time do I spend actually running that race and then how much time do I spend actually crossing the finish line? To answer the question it's about 5 seconds to cross the finish line and anywhere from 20-30 hours or more actually running the dang thing. Not to mention your training, preparation, etc. I'll push it even further, how long does running that 100-miles even feel good for? An hour? A day? A week? Usually not that long. My point is that we should enjoy the journey and put more stock into the work we put in to actually achieve our goals. Slow down and enjoy the ride. Because when you hit a goal there's always a new goal waiting for you. And if you're like me, it's never "good enough" there's always more to give. There's always another challenge out there or a new mountain to climb and conquer.

This life offers us very few guarantees but with that, it also offers us endless opportunities. Endless experiences and things to explore. So, I ask, why do we get so excited about actually achieving our goals and not as excited about the work we have to put in? Is that not where we'll spend the majority of our lives? If we only get excited about actually achieving our goals then we're going to end up being sad and miserable somewhere in 50 years wondering where the heck our life went. Because the truth is, you aren't guaranteed to ever actually achieve those goals.

Back to my original point about the great unknown that is perseverance. I admit I don't know what's going to happen if I keep waking up early and pushing my body to its physical and mental limits. It may propel me to bigger and better places mentally and physically or it may not. But guess what? I don't care. Frankly, I don't give a damn. And neither should you. Because we all know what happens when we quit. BOOM. It's over. From there, there isn't even a chance we achieve anything. So why not put in the work? Why not grind it out? Why not take the risk? Jump in and go for it. Life is too short to do anything but that. As a betting man and one who likes to take risks and gambles, I'll take my chances. In fact, I like my odds, I think they work well in my favor. I'll take a life of risks, gambles, uncomfortable situations, and curveballs over comfort and safety any day. Accepting and knowing that they might not get me anywhere. That they might not reward me with anything. I'm not in it for a reward or anyone's approval. If I was then I probably wouldn't do the things I do, write the things I write, and say the things I say. Some might call me a journeyman and some might call me a dreamer. But man, when it comes down to it I'm just here for the ride of my life!

Don't give up on your goals and dreams. Embrace and enjoy the process and work that it's going to take to get you there. Fall in love with the journey and you'll never work a day in your life. And lastly, buckle up and enjoy the ride!

Get After It.

goals
1

About the Creator

Connor Warman

A CrossFit Coach and Podcaster's perspective on life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.