Motivation logo

It's Never Too Late to Start

Changing Your Mind Shows Strength, Not Weakness

By Tarun GuptaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Content Performed by Author

It is never too late to start or learn or begin again or change your mind. Changing your mind shows strength, not weakness. In this post, I will talk to you guys about the mindset of starting by drawing from the lives of a few influential people and my own personal life.

We are always terrified of change but we should know that the only thing constant in life is change. This change has a lot of variabilities. It completely depends on the individual. It can be limited to changing your location or your job or changing your domain by starting a new career altogether.

In this world of a constant bombardment of information and successful people, as a human being we have developed a tendency to think that we are left behind. This thinking makes us lose the battle before it even begins.

As Gary Vaynerchuk says that it is never too late to start. Changing your mind shows strength, not weakness.

The first thing to do when you want to do something in life is to just do it without worrying about the consequences and how will people react to it? It is all about creation, making your work tangible by executing your idea.

I understand it's a steep slope to climb but have the belief in yourself that you will be able to do it. Everyone starts from zero. The overnight success stories we hear are really not overnight success stories. There are years of hard work involved behind those overnight success stories.

Let's look at a few influential people who either started late or achieved success late in life.

Martha Stewart - She is an American retail businesswoman, writer, and television personality.

→ She was in her mid-thirties when she started her catering business

→ She was nearly fifty before signing a deal to develop the Martha Stewart Living magazine

Colonel Sanders

→ The man behind the crispy fried chicken is known all over the world but he opened the first KFC franchise at the age of 62

Boman Irani - He is a commercially successful actor in Bollywood

→ Till the age of 32, he was managing a bakery left by his father

→ He had his breakthrough theatrical role at the age of 44

Alan Rickman - Any Harry Potter Fan would surely know him

→ He was a graphic designer before he was a critically acclaimed actor

→ His talents were recognized only after starring in "Die Hard' in 1988 when he was 42 years old.

→ He then went on to play the role of Severus Snape in the first Harry Potter movie in 2001 at the age of 55

Stan Lee - Who doesn't know this comic book legend

→ He published his first comic book hit only in 1961 when he was almost 39 years old before that he was an assistant in the comic book department for the company called Timely Publications

Samuel L Jackson - One of the most popular actors of his generation. His movies have grossed over 27 Billion dollars worldwide.

→ He was involved with dramatics since his 20s but the movie Pulp Fiction garnered him a worldwide audience in which he starred at age 46

Morgan Freeman - An academy award winning actor who is particularly known for his distinctive deep voice

→ He was in Air Force before becoming an actor. He left the air force to start acting and landed his first break at the age of 50

If they can do it, you can too.

I am not famous or influential but by sharing my story, I am trying to do my share of humanity by providing any insights into the world that I have learned from my experiences. Drawing from my own personal life. The most important thing I have learned is to be fearless when it comes to your dreams.

Protect your dreams like you will protect your child. Don't let anyone or anything talk you out of them. When you have a dream, you need to find ways to make that dream a reality.

Our society expects us to know about our future trajectory when we are 18 and are about to start our life in the real world. I wanted to be a software engineer when I was 18 and I became one only to realize that I am not that much passionate about it as I thought. Meanwhile, my interests start to increase in the world of literature. I started to read more and somehow reached a point where I wanted to be a writer.

When I look back at my life when I was 18, I always feel like, I wish I would have known it sooner but that perspective will always remain, no matter how old we become.

We as human beings will always feel that we could have improved our life if we would have known this earlier.

But don't let that stop you. I recently finished the first draft of my book which I am currently editing. I am putting out content on all social media platforms consistently. I am currently working on a video podcast show in which I will talk about things that matter in life with my guests.

I started doing all this 6 months ago at the age of 25. I am sure a lot of you will be thinking that 25 isn't too late. But let me tell you that from the perspective of the background of the community I come from, I should have been married by now and should also have a kid.

But I didn't let my community values and mindset stop me. I want to make it as a writer who can share some stories with people. Bring joy into their lives, improve anyone's life even by a fraction. I am working hard for that and I will keep on working hard for that until I make it.

I recently saw another example in one of my friends. He is currently trying to make it as a singer in Bollywood but he didn't start out that way. He used to sing in school events but then after graduating high school, he went on to pursue the career of Chartered Accountant. He worked in that domain for more than 5 years but when he realized that he wants to be a professional singer, he left his career and arrived in Mumbai where he is now trying to make his dream come true. He has featured in a couple of Singles written and performed by him.

Ultimately, It all boils down to the mindset and putting in the work.

If you are driven enough to make your dreams a reality and this work won't even feel like work.

I hope you liked the content and maybe I inspired you. Share it with your loved ones. I hope to communicate with you guys more and get valuable insights. Thank you for reading.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Tarun Gupta

A simple fellow writing stories, sharing experiences, sharing his perspective, trying to do his share of humanity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.