Motivation logo

Bring Happiness into Your Life

Don’t Lose Your Passion

By Tarun GuptaPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
Video Performed by Author

Success is bringing happiness into your life. Never lose your passion by allowing it to die. The faster getting ahead, making great money, having a lavish lifestyle, getting the house and the car, the whole checkbox kind of life. This is society's definition of success.

Don't let your passion die away. Sometimes it's very difficult to understand or realize that you're letting your passion die away.

Recently I realized the I was doing the same because once your passion dies, once your interest dies, I seriously don't know what comes after that because I've not let myself reach that point.

I realized that things are going wrong in my life before my interest or passion die away completely, and today I'm here to talk about that.

Don't fall into the trap of the rat race, don't do things that others are doing to reach the goals that you set for yourself.

The goal is not to be in the top 1% but to be 1% unique, so bring to the table the uniqueness that you have to offer rather than just copying what others are doing.

Go after the things that you want in life, And to be honest, what is success? There is no hard and fast defined definition of success.

You make your own definition of success, or do you go by the prevailed definition of success?

The faster getting ahead, making great money, having a lavish lifestyle, getting the house and the car, the whole checkbox kind of life.

That is not a real success, I fell into the ropes of this definition of success. It led me to a breakdown moment and caused a panic attack. Then I had to sit down and think about what my definition of success is because this definition of success wasn't serving me.

For me, success is happiness. I feel I'm successful if I wake up in the morning, and I'm looking forward to the things that I will do that day and when I go to bed at night, there is a smile on my face.

That is success for me.

We have the tendency to attach success to the outcomes rather than the entire process itself.

So think of success as productivity of self-expression rather than productivity as self-worth. As I said, the happiness that I feel is success for me, and that is my definition of success.

And you don't need to work your ass off for 14 hours a day in a job or in anything where at the end of the day, you're feeling miserable. No, that is not a true success, don't go by the societal norms of success. You make your own definition of success.

And to be honest, the societal definition of success, it's a myth.

I am a writer. I like telling stories to people. I like having conversations with them. I like to share my life experiences and my lessons that I've learned with them, and for the last few months, my life has completely spiraled down into the hellhole of social media in terms of what other people are doing there, and hence I started to share motivational quotes, inspirational quotes over there.

It's not like they're not a part of my life; they are, and I believe in them and the majority of the quotes that I've posted I have said them, or I have used them in my conversations, but I don't want to be limited to those quotes.

Those quotes have sprouted out of my conversations with people that I've had. They are my thoughts in the rawest form when I'm telling stories to people, or if I am discussing anything with them or I'm having any kind of conversation, about my life lessons about my experiences and things like that but to put out content in that form was making me feel miserable.

My entirety of the days was spent on social media where I was just posting those quotes. And at the end of the day, when I went to bed, I did not feel the satisfaction that I felt when I was writing my book.

Every day when I was writing my book, I'll go to bed happy, getting a sense of achievement but posting these quotes on social media, I was actually not getting that sense of achievement in my own personal life.

So I realized that the social media thing that I'm doing right now is making me miserable, and I need to do something to change it to not let it reach depression.

I don't want to feel this way, and I don't want anybody else to feel this way either, so that's why I'm telling my story right now.

Define your own success, recognize things that make you miserable.

Make your own definition of success, do what makes you happy.

It need not be the level of success that others have achieved.

Bring your uniqueness and try to go to bed happy because I'm sure if you go to bed happy, you will feel that you have achieved something in life, at least that particular day.

Happiness is what gives life meaning, and I'm not denying hard work doesn't pay off, but you don't need to put in hard work in the places where you are making yourself miserable in the process; then that hard work is not worth it.

Before realizing this misery of mine, I was kind of in a mental exhaustion phase. I had a dread that was weighing on me every day when I woke up in the morning, and I always felt that I have to put content on social media again, and I have to do this, do that, and I'll not be able to get into my book again but it should have been the other way around.

My main interests or my main source of happiness is in writing my book or in telling stories and writing stories.

But I was deviating away from that, and that did not feel good at all.

I should do whatever makes me happy, you should whatever make you happy.

I also recognized that I've not touched my book for more than 2 weeks, which I'm currently editing to get it published, and that kind of open my eyes.

I'm feeling miserable. I'm feeling mentally exhausted at the end of the day, so I need to change things around before it goes too far. Before my interest in writing stories is vanished completely.

This whole entire journey of me feeling that misery made me realize that I was doing all this hard work or all this effort because whatever I have achieved in my life, I've achieved it through hard work, be it the degree that I pursued or am currently pursuing or be the jobs that I've done or currently doing.

All those things in life I have achieved through hard work, and given that, I thought that if I keep on putting in hard work, I'll reach the level of success that others have seen.

I think that's where I made a mistake by accepting other's success as my success.

I have realized that I need to define my own definition of success; I don't need to go by anybody else's. I need to make sure that when I'm going to bed, I'm happy nothing else matters.

But earlier, the goals that I was pursuing were not goals that I did not want to pursue, I had my heart in them, and that's why I did not feel even for a second the misery that I felt in social media in the form of content that I've been already putting.

So it's not like I don't like social media; it's a necessary evil to be very honest for somebody trying to create their own brand for something. As a writer, I thought that I'll try to establish myself make my own brand so people know what kind of writing I do, what kind of stories I tell.

But I approached it in the wrong way, in the content form that I actually don't enjoy making.

Doing things just for the sake of doing it is not mentally healthy. If you're not mentally healthy, you'll not be healthy physically as well, right.

Don't let yourself reach a point where you are facing such mental exhaustion that you are on the verge of depression.

Don't fall into the trap as I did.

I'm trying to pick myself up again and sorting things in my life right now.

So keep that in mind. Recognize when you're feeling dissatisfaction in things that you are doing, and I know we are trying to do our best in this world to make something tangible, and we should.

I think everybody should but don't make yourself miserable in the process rather try to do anything even it's very tiny, that makes you happy rather than trying to achieve something big but feeling disheartened and miserable at the end.

No, that is not worth it.

It is my humble request to everybody who is reading. Please, please don't fall into the trap of this misery.

It need not be limited to social media. I can be your job; it can be any other thing for that matter, but recognize it before it's too late because, as I said in the beginning, once your passion dies, once your interest dies. I was afraid to venture into the area to know what it feels like because I'm not sure whether I was or will be able to come back if I reach there.

So don't let yourself reach that point ok.

It's very, very important. I can't stress that enough.

You don't need to burn yourself out; that is the least productive thing you can do as a creator.

Take things at your own pace. Take control of things in your life because you are your own boss. And me being an ambitious person, it took me a while to understand that, and I hope with this story, if I point it out to even one person before it's too late that they are currently feeling something similar, I'll be very happy because at the end of the day we are all humans, we socialize by telling each other stories and here I am telling you my story so that you recognize if something similar is going on in your life or of a friend or family person's life.

Thank you for reading.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Tarun Gupta

A simple fellow writing stories, sharing experiences, sharing his perspective, trying to do his share of humanity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.